We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OKAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We were with a tour group, so the hotel was prearranged. The rooms are okay, with 2 double beds is each but no heat as best I could tell and it can get cold in San Miguel. . The bathroom modern and clean. The grounds were pretty with lots of tables for sitting out and having a drink. We only ate in the restaurant once and found the service slow and the quality poor - even at breakfast!. So after that we walked elsewhere. The staff were helpful with getting cabs and giving directions. i don't know the exact nightly rate but my thoughts are it was inexpensive and we got what we paid for. The location is about 6 blocks from the center of the old town.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustgomexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2009

Designed with the reception area in front of the courtyard. You can hear everything that
happens in the reception area. It is frequently very noisy. Very hard to get a decent night's sleep in this hotel. The other guests frequently stay up late and are very loud. The management does not seem to care. Complaints fall on deaf ears here. A very poorly run Best Western hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blankletmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

The hotel in itself is not bad . Rooms could be much nicer as well as breakfast . Lighting in the room was just awful. White lamps that made room look like an office.
Bed sheets were not ironed , giving a very bad impression, although they were clean.
I did not enjoy the night in that hotel, although for the price it was ok, I may say that for almost the same price I got an excelent boutique hotel in Guanajuato.
In fact I was expecting something a little more nicer since Best Western Hotels throuthout the world in general are quite nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciliacastelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Our party of nine stayed at the Best Western Monteverde in San Miguel de Allende August 2-10, 2007.

We had nice rooms and the nights were pleasantly cool. Circulating fans were supplied for the warmer parts of the day.

Breakfast was included with the room and it was varied and delicious. We liked the coffee, juice and fruit offerings and there was cereal as well as meat and cheese every day.

The location is near the town center and we enjoyed walking to the main plaza and shopping along the way.

The staff was well-trained and helpful to us.

4  Thank betwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed at the Best Western because usualy this group offers an average quality. Well, not with the Best Western in San Miguel. The hotel itself is average - nice rooms, a bit too far away from the center but you can go there by taxi. What really made us more than angry was that during the two nights we stayed there each night the hotel was overcrowded with groups og 6-10 year old kids whom arrived around midnight. After that, there was no more sleep because there (naturally) was a lot of noise and these kids shared each room with 4 or 6. The next morning, we noticed we and two others were the only other guests. Well, and then the breakfast: The hotel had a breakfast buffet for the kids which lasted until 10 am. We and the other guests were each morning told to stay away because there was not enough space. When we came for breakfast after ten, there wasnothing keft, not even some coffee (breakfast was included). The manager simply told us to [--] off when we finally found him. This hotel is a tourist trap - two sleepless nights and much too expensive. Stay elsewhere when you come to San Miguel!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kollersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Nice clean hotel. It is a walk to the main square but not too far. The staff are very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pattyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We chose this hotel because of the Satelite TV with lots of English Channels. We enjoy resting with a TV and wanted Hotel ammenities that some of the B&B's don't have.

We found that the majority of the rooms only have one window and only one or two panes actually open. If it is the warm season, this is a problem. The rooms were large and did look very nice and had fireplaces for the winter season. The inside walkways and patio were beautiful. They did have a nice indoor parking area but did not have a security guard.

What we ended up chosing was a large upstairs suite with 2 huge windows, 2 Queen size beds and large sitting area with couch and two chairs. We really enjoyed the room even tho there were no bars or screens on the windows and felt unsafe at night. There were some huge ants that came out of the outside wall at night and we could not keep that one window open at night. We did complain and nothing was done.

There were only 3 other guests there and there was very little ice. There was not English speaking staff and no computers available for guests as had been advertised. The restaurant was never open and they just said, "it never was". We made a long distance call and was trying to pay $2.40 in cash and it took the whole staff including the maids to come up with $2.60 in change.

The breakfast was nice for a Contiental Breakfast and it was a good 6 block uphill walk to the Jardin instead of the 2 1/2 that we had read.

Make sure you reserve ahead of time on the Internet (their page is what we used) because we got the suite $122. cheaper than the advertised rate in the office.

Even with these problems we would go back if we could have the suites upstairs, not the one by the office, it was like a dark cave.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Estacion
Hotel la Estacion
#24 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#8 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#59 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero
#49 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteverde Best Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteverde Best Inns

Address: Calle Volanteros Zona Centro 2, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $43 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monteverde Best Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monteverde Best Inns is a colonial style property located in San Miguel de Allende , Guanajuato , one street from the Main Plaza 5 , in the historic center . A Less than 1 kilometer are the Museo de Allende and Craft Market . El Bajio International Airport ( BJX ) 146 Miles and Queretaro Intercontinental Airport ( QRO ) Locate THIS is about 87 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monteverde Best Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monteverde
Best Western San Miguel De Allende
San Miguel De Allende Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing