We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull construction with really old rooms and forniture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2012

From outside the hotel is ok a tipical mexican colonial buildings. Rooms are really old , no air condition , poor forniture and not so clean apearence

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbrocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is nice, it looks good and goes with the vibe of the town. However, there was no soap in the room, at night it was very noisy and we had multiple problems with the online reservation that the hotel didn't receive. When checking out, we had to spend an hour on the phone with people in the U.S and Holland trying to figure out why the reservation didn't come through. Plus, the staff didn´t speak english...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Diego A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Our second stay at this location. Spent one night there two years ago and three nights this time. Wouldn't make a claim that this converted hacienda was a five star hotel - probably three stars. The price and location definitely justifies taking a look at staying here. We were lucky enough to make a reservation when they were running a manager's special for staying three nights for the price of two. We find the location excellent with a short 5 - 10 minute walk up to the main centro plaza and a downhill walk back to the hotel after dinner refreshing.

To be candid, the rooms are a little on the dark side and adequate ventilation somewhat of a problem certain times of the year but we don't typically spend a great deal of time in our rooms. The central courtyard tables and are a pleasant place to relax.

Another real plus is the secure parking on the hotel grounds and one feels very comfortable leaving a full loaded vehicle.

Room Tip: We have always had a groundfloor room just off the main courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

This hotel could be a great value in the warmer seasons. Included is a buffet breakfast of melon with yogurt, instant coffee, packaged juice, cold sweetened cereal, and packaged pastries. The dining room was attractive and the service was very nice. The waiter heated my milk and was attentive. Our traveling companions enjoyed it last spring in warmer weather, and booked it again, thinking it was a good deal for $68 a night on Expedia.
Temperatures in San Miguel in early December were 39 to 75F during our visit. The rooms in this attractive and clean hotel got little sun. It seemed cold as soon when we checked in around 2pm. In this climate no one has central heat, however fireplaces and spaceheaters can take the chill off quickly. Although the bedrooms have fireplaces, there were no logs. Nor any space heaters. A concern about nighttime temperatures yielded delivery of very heavy blankets, which the maid occasionally used as a bottom sheet. The public room also had a fireplace, but it only burned logs one evening during our stay, though it was very chilly and everyone was bundled up every night. Even the public rooms and dining areas were cold. Having no leisurely place to relax in warmth made us unable to relax at the hotel, which was spacious , clean and attractive in a modest way. It's location down hill from the town center near a sewer meant a 15 minute walk through San Miguel de Allende, which is charming everywhere.
The room temperature was fine for sleeping , but the bed was the hardest bed I have ever slept on.....one step away from a padded board.
The hotel caters to student groups . They were noisy at night . There was insufficient hot water in the mornings before they came down to breakfast. We were not allowed to eat the hot breakfast buffet available to them , which included pancakes, eggs, and Mexican specialties,

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYfussylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I think this place gets a bum rap because San Miguel de Allende tends to attract a crowd that can spend a bit of cash and if the hotel isn't four stars, it's not going to get great reviews. Having stayed in Mexico City for two days prior, I can say this place is pretty nice. So nice, in fact, that my girlfriend proposed to *me* in their courtyard the night we were there.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was OK. It's free, so what's out there is a continental breakfast-style spread; if you want something spectacular, walk into downtown or do what we did... do the free breakfast and spend a bit more cash on a great lunch in town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My visit to this hotel was only three nights which I was glad to not spend the whole time in hotel for many things.
Lets see the pros and the cons
Pros
The price might be the best one
I was able to see two kind of bedrooms, make sure to dont get the simple one
The whole hotel is in good shape
The breakfast is good
The hotel was always clean

Cons
Not very close to the city center
Beds are hard as rocks
Loud school kids

You can see that the hotel is not as bad but something I didnt liked was the rooms.
If you are just coming for a night maybe two its fine but remember there are much better hotels around the town.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Stayed here for 3 days in April. It was okay. Front desk people very helpful, but not so for the restaurant. We had a continental breakfast included but it was pretty sparce. Service was slow. the location is on the edge of the historic downtown so a 6 block walk to the plaza. Rooms were adequate but nothing special. The good news was the price was right. At about $65, it was cheap for San miguel. Would I stay again? MAybe if the price was good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaresEatOats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Estacion
Hotel la Estacion
#23 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#59 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero
#49 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monteverde Best Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monteverde Best Inns

Address: Calle Volanteros Zona Centro 2, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $43 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monteverde Best Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monteverde Best Inns is a colonial style property located in San Miguel de Allende , Guanajuato , one street from the Main Plaza 5 , in the historic center . A Less than 1 kilometer are the Museo de Allende and Craft Market . El Bajio International Airport ( BJX ) 146 Miles and Queretaro Intercontinental Airport ( QRO ) Locate THIS is about 87 kilometers away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monteverde Best Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monteverde
Best Western San Miguel De Allende
San Miguel De Allende Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing