We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place but Beware”
Review of Hotel Dos Casas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dos Casas
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Place but Beware”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited San Miguel de Allende in late November/early December and spent 6 days/5 nights at Dos Casas. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the town square and a short taxi ride to other areas in SMA. Our room, a suite on the 1st floor, was very spacious and comfortable. The room had two fireplaces, one in the living room and the other in the bedroom, and a private terrace.

Overall, the staff was very friendly and eager to please. The front desk staff engaged in conversation with us as we left and returned to the hotel. Ernesto, the gentleman who usually served us breakfast and drinks later in the day, mixes an excellent margarita. We received a cooking lesson from Gustavo and Juan Carlos and ate amazing food and had such a fun time. The staff also gave us an opportunity to enjoy breakfast in the kitchen, a more casual setting and great way to learn more about the area and the staff.

Having said that, not all was idyllic. I carried all cash, credit cards and travel documents with me around town for the first few days of our stay as we had difficulty using the safe. However, we asked the staff for help working the safe on the 3rd day because we did not feel comfortable taking certain items with us to El Escondido, a nearby hot spring. We noticed that the staff pulled a key out of the front desk drawer and proceeded to our room to help us with the safe. Once everything was settled, we left for the day. The next morning, I noticed $40US missing from an envelope of small bills left in the safe. My husband then checked his wallet and noticed $40US missing as well. We did not immediately approach the staff because we wanted to carefully retrace our steps and make sure there was no chance the missing money was spent elsewhere. Since we consciously carried very little US dollars with us and did not spend any US dollars in Mexico, we concluded that an employee or employees skimmed from the top of the envelope and wallet thinking that we probably would not notice. We talked with the manager the following morning. She adamantly denied that anyone from the hotel would take the money or for that matter had access to the safe to take the money. We beg to differ, especially since the key is kept in the front desk drawer and is easily accessible to staff in a hotel with very little lobby traffic.

We would like to say that we will return to Dos Casas because the overall experience was excellent; however, given that money was stolen from the safe in our room, we will not. It's unfortunate that one (or more) employees can taint such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Take an inventory of your items before placing them in the safe. Better yet, take your valuables wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kdk831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    16
    8
    6
    11
See reviews for
22
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a disaster...where do I start. I guess we should have known we were up for a major dissapointment when our waiter tried to sit us in the bar area (which is completely apart from the restaurant) when there was not one single person in the entire restaurant. To sum it up here you go: Bad service with an attitude, rushed us to order our food 3 minutes after providing us with the menu not to mention he requested our wine choice before we even knew what we wanted to eat!! Who does that? Obviously an restaurant who doesn't comprehend the idea of pairing wine with food! Waiter came to see us once to ask how our meal was going (we were there for 1 1/2 hrs). and finally the food....Wow - (not in a good way) my rissotto was under cooked and hard and my wifes duck was so over cooked it took so much chewing to get through it and then our apple tarte dough was raw. To make matters worse he notifies us when he hands us the menu that the prices were not accuratedue to taxes. In sum, one of the worst experiences in food dining in a very long time if not ever!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are ok. It could be better maintain. The location is ideal. The breakfast is from Cumpanio, a wonderful place for breakfast. If you are in San Miguel for fun and not expecting much of the hotel, then this is a good option. Has no Spa.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robprad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dos Casas is a very small, luxurious boutique hotel in San Miguel de Allende located about 3 blocks form the square and the main church on the cornier of a quaint cobble stone street. It is unassuming and unpretentious, but once inside it feels warm, luxurious, and inviting. We were made to feel as if we had come home to visit our family with the warm and inviting welcomes we received and the remarkably attentive and helpful service provided throughout or stay. Everyone went way beyond the extra mile to accommodate us and make our experience at Dos Casas extraordinary and one we will never forget- making us want to return as soon as possible.
Our room was well appointed with 2 flat screen tv's (never turned them on, however), DVD and CD players with i-pod docks in the living room and the bed room, and plenty of closet space for all of out belongings. Our bathroom was spacious and the towels were plentiful and luxuriously thick and absorbant. Robes and slippers were of course waiting for us. Our living room had a nice sized couch and was airy and light and provided a nice place to sit if we didn't want to go out to our little private deck or to the library or rooftop garden deck with remarkable views of the city.
Our bed was perfectly comfortable and the curtains could be pulled to block out the morning sun so se could sleep in if we wanted without having to shade our eyes in some other way.
The air conditionsing system worked great as well. When we didn't need that in the evening, both our living room and bedroom were equipped with gas fireplaces that gave off great heat and a romantic light.
If all of that wasn't enough, I have to rave about the food and the chefs. Our Swedish head Chef, Kajsa Akerblom Litzen, had recently joined the hotel and she was remarkably friendly and welcoming and provided such great food that, despite all of the great restaurants in town, we really didn't want to miss Kajsa's dinners becuase nothing else compared to her fresh and tasty preparations. She would always greet us with a kiss on the cheek and inquire about our daily activities and ask how we were. She was always available to offer insider advice about what we might do, where we might go, and where and what we might eat around town. The service we received in the restaurant was always top notch. We had the option to change our dining environment at Dos Casa as a result of the several different seating options we had available: inside the intimate and very European dining room, sitting at a small table on charis or on a comfy couch, outside on the deck under the stars, or in the kitchen at the counter watching her prepare our food and discussing all aspects of food and life. One great chef at such an intimate hotel would be remarkable enough, but we were honored to be served breakfasts and lunch by Chef Angel Flores- a man who loves life and who loves to cook and share his excitement for Mexican food and tradition with a broad smile and a hearty laugh. We were fortunate enough to take a private cooking class from Angel that was one of the true highlights of our time in San Miguel-both as an experience and for the remarkable lunch that we got to partake in. Our cooking class included a trip to the market for fresh local ingredients and a guided walk around the area on our way back and forth with Rosie and Eddie, who provided great information about what we were seeing that we would otherwise never have gotten. They also were able to suggest other places we might walk to later that were especially loved by them (and later by us as well). Angel's teaching style was hands on and experiential- we got to cook! No overhead mirrors and note cards with recipes fort him. He believes that to learn to cook you must cook, not just observe. We could not agree more!
Obviously I have gone overboard here with my praise of Dos Casas, but I have travelled extensively on every continent and have stayed at some remarkable places in my life, but today the only place I am thinking about going back to is this fabulous little hotel. My mouth is watering as I write this review and I truly miss the new friends I made there.

Room Tip: There is only one room on the first floor (the one we had) and although a nice room, it is on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummyrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Absolutely beautiful little boutique hotel with helpful and peaceful staff. We had a wonderful room with a very lovely king size bed. The bathroom was very large and more luxurious than most San Miguel hotels. The staff was always ready to make us a coffee and tell us about the town.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

It is a great place to have a local experience of the little town of San Miguel, it has a great location so everything is really close from the hotel.
Plus the service is awesome...
I think is a beautiful hotel .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexi_AFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just finish a trip to SMA, great place to stay and if you like home cook meal enjoy it in the kitchen (seat in a stool and watch how your it is made), exceeds any expectation well located within 4 blocks of downtown area and the rooms are comfortable, all staff is always a good help.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pampini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Otel
L'Otel
#28 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel FK
Hotel FK
#52 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Casas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Casas

Property: Hotel Dos Casas
Address: Quebrada No 101, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#10 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Dos Casas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dos Casas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Casas Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing