We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel for a high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is clean but you feel like it isnt clean beacause it is a a little bit old. You can hear everything that is going on the next room since the walls are paper thin.

Pros
- parking lot

cons
-far away from the center

When i got to the hotel i had a special rate because i was going to a wedding 1100 MXN but i overheard another person just came in asking if they had any rooms for that night, they said yes and offered the same room at a proce of 1400 MXN wih a breakfast buffet included, so i dont get which is the special rate they gave to us.
the pictures shown by other travelers are very close to the rooms you get

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 993 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is about 20 min. walk to the central plaza. The staff is very helpful and someone speaks English at the front counter, and in the restaurant. We had one of the renovated rooms by the pool. It was quite spacious and well lit. The pool was clean and the service in the restaurant was also good.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms by the pool. Odd number rooms face the pool. Some rooms still nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ngaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Our room, on the renovated wing was very spacious, with a separate living room with direct access to a nice pool, for a very reasonable price. The hotel has good facilities, including meeting rooms, pool and a small bullfighting ring.
Being a good size hotel, it attracts conventions, business meetings, parties, weddings, etc. which might make it inconvenient for you if you are not in the partying mood, we in fact had to complain to the concierge to lower the party volume of our neighbors. But on the other hand, it helps landing on a big hotel when taking your family or just not having enough time to research the perfect boutique hotel in San Miguel.
The restaurant had good service and good food, but in general we preferred to explore the neighborhood. Is not that close to the center, but a 15-20 minutes walk will take you there. San Miguel does not have yet the hotel offerings of other Mexican destinations, so despite the shortcomings of this hotel is a good solid option for a good price for the town.

Room Tip: The renovated wing has rooms that face the pool and in some cases are very spacious. We had a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Average all round, chain vibe, rooms and bathrooms in need of an upgrade, terrible in-house dining, poor room service, self-absorbed staff more interested in socializing with each other than practicing hospitality. Bring your own pillow if you choose to stay here unless you like to rest your head on a brick when you're sleeping. Stay somewhere else, anywhere else, if you want to experience the charms of this gorgeous, magical, historical city.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belle-Lettrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Unfortunately, pretty low vs our expectation. Rooms too dark, we were unable to get the A/C run properly. Maybe because of the old rustic decor, feels like pretty dirty, bathrooms lack ventilation. Expect cheap & bad quality towels... old and rough!
Asked for car wash and they do not provide the service.

Good is to have a huge parking lot inside the property and is on a convenient location.
It is not a cheap hotel though you may stay at a better place for the same money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

To be improved:
- Carpet was very old
- More air and venting in the bathroom

Good:
- The swimming pool
- Quality of pillows
- Professionalism of the recepcionists

It is an uphill 15mn walk to the center, if you don't 'need' a pool, for the same budget, you can find much better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The bad - Rooms were dark and felt a little dirty. Not enough lighting or fresh air. Bathroom was uncomfortable and dark. Water pressure poor. WiFi weak in rooms and fair in lobby.

The good - very friendly service everywhere. Convenient location. Food was good and extremely reasonably priced. Breakfast especially - huge variety and tons of delicious fresh fruit. Nice pool and relaxation areas.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing with patio above ground level - that way you can keep sliding doors open at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonnyNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#27 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grand Las Nubes by Inmense
Grand Las Nubes by Inmense
#12 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#10 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende

Address: Calle Ancha de San Antonio No. 1 | Col. Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#4 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $71 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende offers you the experience of a lifetime with our comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens, refreshing pool and our magnificent spaces, surrounded by the invigorating energy of San Miguel de Allende. Conveniently located, our hotel invites you to enjoy our beautiful town and its surroundings, rich with history, excellent cuisine and important traditions. The Hotel Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende is more than just a place to stay at night it is a complete lifestyle. The experience of Real de Minas begins with our staff. We do everything we can to make you feel at home. Upon arrival you will find our experienced, friendly staff who truly takes pride in their work so that your experience at Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende can be the best for you and your family or friends. Whether your trip be for pleasure, work or a special event, Hotel Real de Minas offers the best facilities in San Miguel de Allende. The Real de Minas hotels were founded by Mr. Cosme Vera whose family promise of comfort and service have withstood the test of time, making our hotel the ideal location for your next trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real De Minas San Miguel De Allende Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing