We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
369 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

We stayed at Casa Calderoni in May with a group of friends attending a wedding. Over the years, we have stayed in many places in San Miguel, both hotels and bed and Breakfast accomodations, and this was truly one of the best and most fun. . All of the rooms are wonderful and artfully decorated and the beds were very very comfortable. Though our suite, Paul Gauguin, was probably the smallest, we had a huge terrace overlooking the city. And at night, friends would gather on the rooftop to watch the fireworks, drink tequila and plan the next day's activities!!!

The breakfasts are awesome - everything from fresh fruit, granola, homemade pancakes, bacon, Mexican eggs, omelets,toast - anything you wanted and it was delicious.

Television was available as well as Internet and Vonage phone.

The location is one of the best - on a very quiet street - near the Mercado, the Biblioteca (Home and Garden Tour), Bugambilias and Tio Lucas restaurants and the Jardin.

Ben and Merry are wonderful hosts and Luis, the Manager is very helpful and knowledgeable about things to do. Count yourself lucky to see Luis and his band perfom at the Jardin or Pueblo Viejo on some nights when he's not managing the Casa Calderoni.

We'll be back - thanks Ben,Merry and Luis for a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
101
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

In November of 2005 we paid our first visit to San Miguel and based on reviews from Trip Advisor we chose to stay at Casa Calderoni and selected the Picasso room. After such an excellent experience there was no doubt as to where we would stay for our second visit this past March. This time we were in the Fernando Botero room. Each room reflects the artist's paintings and the wonderful mural in the Botero bathroom is testament to Merry Calderoni's sense of the art and whimsy of the artist. Bravo!
At the risk of repeating myself, the breakfasts are sumptuous, the rooms are spacious, the beds so comfortable and the management so professional. We were delighted to see Luis again. Luis is the manager who takes care of everything for you. As others have mentioned, the location is ideal; far enough from the centre to be spared the noise and close enough to walk a few blocks to the Jardin as well as all the major restaurants in San Miguel. Thank you once again Ben and Merry and Luis. Until next time!

  • Liked — the hospitality and comfort of the Casa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortZoneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

What a great B&B and right in the heart of San Miguel. I can't say enough how convient and hospitable this B&B is. It is within walking distance to everything you want to see in San Miguel. It is safe, clean and very comfortable. The rooftop terrace is beaufiful and the Calderoni's were very helpful in helping us plan our days events. The room we stayed in was very nice, very comfortable and quiet. Merry Calderoni is a wonderful artist with much of her artwork and talents on display. It was very inspiring to my creative soul and added to the character of the rooms. The breakfast and the service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — The steps up to the room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArtInspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

This was my third time to visit San Miguel and the third time to stay at Casa Calderoni for a very good reason, there is no need to stay anywhere else in my opinion. The location is great, the beds and rooms are so comfortable and beautiful and the service could not be better. With everyone being so friendly and the way the B & B is laid out, it feels like your own casa! The view from the roof top is breathtaking in the morning and magical at night. One of the best, if not THE best view in town! AND THE BREAKFAST is worth the stay alone! I will never stay anywhere else...it is too charming and I always feel so welcomed there! Nikki Mitchell/Nashville

  • Liked — Very comfortable, clean and beautiful
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#29 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 135 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast
Address: Callejon Del Pueblito # 4, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Calderoni is located in San Miguel’s historic center and combines the intimacy of an elegant bed and breakfast with the luxuries of a small boutique hotel. We are located just 3 blocks from the town square, and are conveniently located just one half block from the world famous "Mercado de Artesanias", featuring fine Mexican handicrafts from all over Mexico. Come and enjoy what Travel and Leisure Magazine reports "is one of the 2 best values in all of San Miguel" with "a rooftop terrace with unparalleled city views." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing