We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast of Champions?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antigua Villa Santa Monica
Tennessee
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast of Champions?”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staying with family, we were told that this was the best breakfast in SMA...especially the Eggs Benedict. We planned on meeting friends on morning, only to find that they were not open on Tuesday's (Isn't this a hotel? No guests on Tuesday?) So we returned on Thursday. We were a party of 4 and didn't really need a menu only to find out that they didn't have Eggs Benedict that day. So we all ended eating dishes we didn't really want. My eggs scrambled with lots of bacon were dry; I tried the Chorizo which was excellent. My spouse had two eggs in a crock with salsa verde which was better than it looked. The other dishes were unremarkable. It was a beautiful setting on another beautiful day. Just disappointing.

Room Tip: I did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmprinting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a beautiful quaint hotel right in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. The service and hospitality was outstanding. They will work with you to accommodate all of your needs.
Great place for weddings and private parties too.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights last Christmas. It was my first time in San Miguel and I would really recommend this hotel. The room has a fireplace (necessary for December in San Miguel). We would call the hotel half an hour before arriving back in the late afternoon and the staff would start the fire before our arrival so that it was lovely and warm. The grounds are beautiful with peacocks roaming around the grounds and a lovely cactus garden. The pool though is more for decoration. The room had a lovely four-poster bed and original features, and an access up to our own private balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is located next to the parquet Juarez which is a lovely walk to get into the centre of San Miguel. The breakfast was delicious. We didn't use any of the spa facilities but I believe they were next door in a separate building. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juana1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you're looking for a great location for a family celebration in San Miguel, Villa Santa Monica would be a very good choice. We celebrated my wife's birthday and the hotel, service, and hospitality couldn't have been better. They were able to accommodate a group of 30 people for an evening celebration that included a Mariachi band. The food was excellent and the setting was perfect. Lulu and Mario took care of many of the arrangements and the hotel staff was very professional, friendly and attentive. All those in our group were highly impressed and are ready for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Villa Santa Monica provided the ideal spot for a glorious family vacation & party. The Villa, its gardens and patios are beautiful. Lulu and the entire staff made every guest feel comfortable and welcome. We asked to meet the cooks to thank them for amazing chile rellenos & flan. the kitchen is impressive & immaculate. The location is great, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth mn
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My son and his bride were married on Sunday, April 14 at Villa Santa Monica. All of the guests said it was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding and that the Villa Santa Monica was the most beautiful place they have ever seen. Lulu and her staff were wonderful. She was there any time I needed help in the planning or a contact. She contacted an amazing florist, contacted a guitar player and offered a name of a mariachi band. We couldn't have been more pleased. We pulled out all the stops and it was truly an event we will talk about for a long time and the memories will be forever.
I give the Villa Santa Monica a 5+ rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our first trip to San Miguel de Allende. Absoutly wonderful place to visit. After looking at different properties to stay at, we decided to stay at Antigua Villa Santa Monica. WOW...I´m very happy we stayed here. The rooms were very well appointed, almost like being in your own home. Fireplace, the staff will lite the fire, very romantic. Yea, they use a little fuel to get the fire started, didnt bother us a bit. The staff was great, Lulu the manager, was very attentive to our needs, very friendly, and very helpful when questioned about the city. Also very helpful over the phone before our reservation. Jose, our server, butler, valet, everything, was the best. But overall, we love this little place, a little bit out side of town, but still in town. The grounds are beautiful, plenty of flowering plants, peacocks wondering the grounds, they will eat out of your hands, and just a nice tranquil place to relax. Lovely park across the street, Parque Benito Juarez.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonRoberto8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Casas
Hotel Dos Casas
#29 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa de Aves
Casa de Aves
#52 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa De Los Olivos
Casa De Los Olivos
#17 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigua Villa Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigua Villa Santa Monica

Property: Antigua Villa Santa Monica
Address: Fray Jose Guadalupe Mojica 22 | Fray Jose Guadalupe Mojica 22, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antigua Villa Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Antigua Villa Santa Monica is as fascinatting as its present and we are proud of its xvii century mexican architecture. We offer 14 amazing suites, all of them different and beautifully furnished, decorated superb style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antigua Villa Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Villa Santa Monica Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Antigua Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing