We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you value sleep, do not stay at La Morada”
Review of La Morada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Morada Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I went to San Miguel de Allende for a weekend. We went at kind of the last second and after scanning tripadvisor.com for some suggestions, we found that only La Morada had availability. This should have been a red flag to us, but the location was great and the price was pretty good. Big mistake. It wasn't the bells that got to us, it was the people partying next door that would not keep it down. We called the front desk with no results. I got out of bed to get someone from the front desk to get them to quiet down. I watched as the employee knocked on the door - no one came to answer. Our neighbors just kept partying. Only after they passed out at about 3am did we finally get some sleep - until the bells started at 5:45 am. Do not stay here!!!

Room Tip: Any room where there are no parties next door - good luck.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobfromRedondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for La Morada Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel La Morada was a very pleasant surprise in San Miguel de Allende. Everybody at the hotel was very kind and helpful. The room was comfortable and with character. We had a small balcony with a magnificent view. The only con was the tolling of the church's bells that did not let my husband sleep (the hotel provides ear plugs but he did not use them)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The hotel's entrance is some 100m from El Jardin (the main square) - you enter a small reception hall to find a friendly & helpful receptionist. Go up the stairs & you will realise what a lovely hotel this is, from the beautiful murals, potted plants & even a "park" bench to sit on outside our room & enjoy the sun. You walk into the bedrooms from an out door walkway.

Our room was towards the rear - totally quiet, spacious, good beds, well furnished with a TV that actually had BBC World News as a programme (as opposed to CNN, which essential is by the US for the US ref. the forthcoming elections). Very good shower, hair dryer & sink with a plug.

Breakfast was taken at its restaurant some 30m left out of the reception door. Once the waitress understood its boiling water for tea - we got on fine.

For dinner we visited La Posadita - roof top terrace - great views - heaters & it was Valentine's Day; for a less formal meal try El Ten Ten Pie - a little further down the same road. Turn left outside the hotel & cross the road, there is an up market bread & cake shop about 100m distance (opposite the post office).

I would also recommend the Allende Museum - lots of English information.

.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It was a really surprised so close to the main atraccion the garden and the parroquia we dont need any transportation to walk around and have fun, excellent food at any central and outside restaurants we were saved the town is cossy and frendly, and the staff, more than excellent thanks a lot my best hollydays.

Room Tip: the rooms at front of the parroque have sauna and from there you can have the best veiw
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATRICIA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Paper thin walls. Could hear people go to the toilet next door!!!

They had the great idea of painting something inside the room and didn't let the place to vent enough before letting someone stay there!
I couldnt sleep because of the stench and fumes of the solvent from the paint.

Got intoxicated!
Never going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgardocf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We got a master suite and it was a HUGE room, we had a fireplace in front of our bed and someone would come up every night to fire it for us, that was super romantic. Their best asset is their location. Friendly staff in general a good value.
If you are planning on purchasing and shipping stuff to the U.S.
DON'T HIRE Alan Kent Moving Company, he shipped some very valuable pieces to Texas and my merchandise arrived broken, he made me paid in full even before I got it knowing that the piece have been broken before it crossed the border and even made me pay $100 dlls. more for extra packing! Better hire someone professional like La Union, it is more expensive but it is worth it!

Room Tip: call directly
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BebaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting SMA and choosing La Morada as the place to rest our feet. SPECTACULAR location, right in the middle of the Historic City Center and the bells that sound every 15 minutes are 'tuned' out because the sound is not overwhelming. The staff was gracious and offered assistance whenever we looked puzzled about finding a restaurant/sight.

The room (European Suite - #6) was HUUUUUGE. The first floor had a half bath under the stairs, a balcony to gawk at the cathedral from the privacy of your room along with 2 sofas and a massive built-in bookshelf/vanity. A wet bar-style sink along with more cabinet was in the corner. The square footage of the 1st floor must have been 400 sq. ft. Walk up 12 steps and the bedroom was grand as well. Set up like a loft, with a king size bed, fireplace, tv and closet space and an attached long bathroom with 2 windows to let the fresh air in.

Our only complaint, and it is a big one for me was the softness, or lackthereof, of the mattress. But that is pretty standard in Mexico. The pillows were nice, the sheets were always clean and the overall cleanliness of the room was not substandard. There was no operable room safe and no iron/ironing board.

So if you are looking for a phenomenal location and a huge room, this is definitely the place to hang your hat while visiting SMA.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatsleepandship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#28 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#10 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#25 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Morada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada Hotel

Address: Calle Correo No. 10 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $104 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Morada Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an old colonial house, with rooms decorated on this style,located 60 feet away from the main square. All rooms with: king bed, Cable TV, DVD,telephone and security box. Colonial Suites in two levels; bedroom with king bed, living room with balcony overlooking to the main zone, half and full bathroom with a personal Jacuzzi bath tub. Patio Suites, new area in ground floor with out-standing minimalist design and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Morada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing