We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast, Comfortable place”
Review of La Cocina de Boris y Jessi - CLOSED

La Cocina de Boris y Jessi
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Mexican, International
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast, Comfortable place”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came upon this place later in our stay in SMA and probably would have returned a couple more times. It is a small place and seems to have a regular following. The service was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Troupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pescado Tacos and Salad”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Chef Boris deep fried a white fish today in beer, salt and pepper making me two of the most excellent fish tacos I think I have ever had. It was served along with a very fresh tomato and lettuce salad. Honestly, I think I could eat those lovely fish tacos every few days for the rest of my life! Yes, they are that good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Eggs, Handcrafted Food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was a pleasant find. An open, intimate space filled with conversation. Boris knows how to cook perfect eggs! Homemade sauces--que rico. No pretension, just good honest food. Some straight up Mexican, a few options for those seeking north of the border (I had an egg sandwich on an english muffin, my husband a more traditional dish--both were great). Boris and Jessi were friendly and welcoming. Very reasonable prices for good handcrafted food. You will not find anything "deconstructed" or "fusion" here, but a nice stop for breakfast and beyond.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Acequiamadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ca
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Boris and Jessi make you feel at home with their open arms and incredible food! Sonoma must miss this fine cooking. Excellent service! A MUST when in Mexico!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SoEventful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fine dining but it felt like home”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I fell in love with the little place - only a few tables so you feel like you are in the chefs kitchen of a fine restaurant. Boris, being a top chef in Sonoma and his wife Jessie make you feel part of the family serving gourmet comfort food in a charming atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank epohl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Boris y Jessi also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing