We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem! They must be doing something right!”
Review of La Parada

La Parada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
New York City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a gem! They must be doing something right!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We saved this little gem for our last night and sorry that we didn't go sooner so we could have gone more than once! A lovely little gem which looks like nothing from the street (in fact, a little hard to find at first glance), it's tucked away on a quiet residential street walking distance from the jardin. Once inside, however, it is breathtakingly lovely. A large courtyard, pools, stone walls and flowers with seating wonderfully spaced. We were unable to sit in the courtyard as we arrived without a reservation but consider ourselves lucky that we got in at all - we sat at a quiet table in the front of the restaurant, near the bar! Not a problem. The food and service was delicious. We had not eaten Peruvian food and was quite surprised with how unusual some of the dishes were. The cerviches (which I have never eaten before) were tasty and fresh and we had a few other delicious main courses - the menu is simple with only three groups of food types - so go with the idea of sharing tastes so that you can experience all that they offer. A wonderful and welcome addition to San Miguel!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    226
    51
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“In Total A Delightful Experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

To a Peruvian this isn't home cooking, but it's better than good, the environment is lovely and the people are very nice.

It's a relatively small outside courtyard (they have heaters but if its a cold night go elsewhere), done up very tastefully, the food is at least half small plates or tapas style, the remainder full dinner servings. While not brilliant everything we ate was well prepared and tasty. The service is superior and they were very solicitous about my wife's food allergies. The young couple who own it are totally delightful. Pork spare ribs and the chicken liver dish were good and worth reordering next time.

It's located a pleasant 5-8 minute walk from the center of town, easy to find. It is popular with the trendy set of expats and Mexico City folk at the moment but I think only take reservations for larger parties, so go before 7:30.

If I had only 5 dinners in SMA this would probably be one of them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeeJay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefish
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stopped in earlier in the week with some friends. We did not have a reservation and there was a long wait. They do not take reservations for two people. The two of us stopped back later in the week. We did arrive early but they were busy. Fortunately, there were two seats at the bar. We had the best service. Ordered the Octopus for an appetizer. I ordered the Chicken Livers and my husband ordered the Pork Ribs. The food was OUTSTANDING. We also had the Lemon Tart for dessert, yummie. The owner was hands on taking care of the front of the house and his fiancé was the chef. Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitefishfarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“wonderful fresh ingredients masterfully combined”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We returned 3 times - twice for lunch and once for dinner - each time the food was delicious. The blending of flavours is unique with textures and tastes that are pleasing with each bite. The presentation is wonderful as well. We loved the outdoor space and the servers were helpful and warm. A wonderful dining treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We loved La Parada and went back twice. We would have gone again but it was closed on our last day there. Exceptionally wonderful staff made the dining experience even better. We loved the ceviche and on our second trip opted for all of the tasting dishes all 8 of them for a tapas style lunch...although I wish we had opted for 4 or 5 and tried one of the sandwiches as well. The entire restaurant, from design to food to staff to drinks... was one of the best and all at very reasonable prices and excellent quality... Thank you! You helped to make our vacation unforgettable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenW55AnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parada also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Parada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing