We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Dining in San Miguel”

Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 29, 2013

While traditional food and restaurant ambience is part of the core San Miguel experience, take an evening during your stay to enjoy a cutting edge culinary meal at Moxi in the Hotel Matilda. Great imaginative takes on traditional foods in a contemporary setting.

1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We couldn’t have said it better ourselves! In fact, “great imaginative takes on traditional foods in a contemporary setting” captures the Moxi and Hotel Matilda experience perfectly. We hope that many readers will take your advice and stroll over to Moxi during their stay in San Miguel, for a truly unforgettable evening.

With warm regards,

Bruce James,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

It has been a surprise to find that Enrique Olvera has open a restaurant in San Miguel. The place is as good as his restaurant Pujol in Mexico DF. It is even more pleasant because you are not force to eat a set menu.
This place is worst the trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aroberttissot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

There’s no higher praise than your claim that Moxi is as good a restaurant as Pujol in Mexico City! It was our goal to create a truly unparalleled culinary opportunity in San Miguel de Allende, and we’re extremely pleased that your recent dining experience lived up to our lofty expectations. Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor!

With warm regards,

Bruce James,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Six experienced diners found the food with a few exceptions to be very disappointing.
The crab ravioli were deconstructed and instead of pasta replaced it with thin slices of vegetable.nice idea but the slices were too thick and not enough crab filling.
The beet salad was ordinary and the tomatoes were not ripe.
The huataloche was under seasoned and somewhat flavourless.
Main courses: the suckling pig was a generous portion and adequately cooked but the skin was not crisp. The lamb came to the table looking like a block of mystery meat. Again it was flavourless and not helped by the sauce ( different for each ) that accompanied all the mains....which made the idea redundant.
Desert: the 3 leche cake was totally without taste altho the sorbet was very nice. The chocolate

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rheath9142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We were quite surprised by your comments, as they are completely out of sync with the reviews by other guests. The great majority of diners give Moxi the highest marks - in fact, the ravioli is one of the most popular items on the menu, praised for its taste as well as the delightful presentation. After receiving rave reviews in such esteemed publications as the New York Times and Afar, we’ve had the opportunity to host even more sophisticated diners, and are pleased to say that their response has been overwhelmingly positive. When your travels bring you back to San Miguel, we hope you’ll visit again, and see why Moxi is building a solid reputation as a truly unequalled dining and culinary destination.

With best regards,

Bruce James,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were so pleased to once again this year enjoy the finest dining experience in San Miguel at the Restaurant Moxi, inside the boutique Matilda Hotel. The dining room is now under the management of chef Enrique Olvera of Pujol in Mexico City. The menu seemed to continue the trend towards working with the best, organic ingredients from local purveyors (sound like Northern California??). The setting is artful, quiet, romantic, and the service is great. They are getting an ever-increasing list of Mexican wines which are really fun to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teri0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest: You’re absolutely right: Chef Olvera’s cuisine shares some important attributes with the finest Napa Valley restaurants – stressing the freshest ingredients and imaginative riffs on traditional dishes. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed the Mexican wines – they’re rising stars in the wine world, and we’re proud to introduce them to appreciative guests like yourself! We hope you will make Hotel Matilda your favorite home away from home. The staff at Moxi looks forward with pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I went first to the Sierra Nevada on Hospicio because we have had so many good meals there in the past. Their menu has changed though, and one can get the filet only with mushrooms. I asked the waitress if she could hold the mushrooms and she said no. Then I asked if she could add some orange juice to my citrus martini, she said no. My husband said, let's go somewhere else where people say things like "yes." So, we went to the Matilda. First I had the beet salad, excellent, then I had the filet, also excellent. I mean, both of these were really, really good! The beet salad was not as good as the one at "The Restaurant" though. Still, it was quite good and I was happy. The steak was better than the last steak I had at "La Burger." It was cooked to perfection, the portion size was perfect. Then I had the lemon pie dessert, which was kind of weird in that they put some lemon pudding on a plate and some kind of graham cracker crust around the dish - very artful - but I wanted lemon pie, not abstract lemon pie.n I get it, food is art, but perhaps they can offer a frozen lemon pie as well, where you actually get a piece of pie that is like a piece of pie. The service was wonderful - like my husband said, here is a place where things are possible for clients, not impossible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rlhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

At Moxi and Hotel Matilda, our staff truly understands the importance of providing exceptional service. In fact, sincere hospitality is essential to an outstanding dining experience. For our guests, nothing is impossible! I’m happy to say that our service philosophy results in many happy guests – and many happy returns. We hope you will be among them! Come back soon.


With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing