We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful upscale evening out!”

Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed January 28, 2013

For years, this location was the patio of the Hotel Jacaranda, complete with a fern bar/gazebo from the 70's. A major remodel and change of ownership brought a level of urban sophistication to San Miguel. The dining areas on both the patio and interior meld into a calm, modernist oasis. We dined on New Year's Eve, a prix fixe meal that was delicious, smart and memorable. Excellent wines were available, which used to be hard to find in Mexico, and the service flawless. All hard to do on a night with extra diners, arriving at the same time, with high expectations. Make this your special night out dinner on your next trip to San Miguel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaS808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Linda: I’m so glad you were able to join us for the special New Year’s Eve dinner. San Miguel visitors and residents alike appreciate the “urban sophistication” that you recognized at Moxi and Hotel Matilda. We’re proud to be the only contemporary boutique hotel in the city. And we’re planning many special art and culinary events this year, so please keep an eye on our website and join us again soon.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 266 of 495 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The restaurant Moxi at the Hotel Matilda is not only the most elegant and artfully-hip setting in San Miguel but the food is truly fabulous. We love the fresh modern cuisine with its roots planted deeply in rich traditional flavors of Latin America. For those looking for a world class dining experience - Moxi at Hotel Matilda is a must do when in San Miguel! For me, the ceviche and the huitlacoche tamale are a must order.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Kim: As you noticed, Chef Olvera is committed to using the freshest ingredients in his artful interpretations of modern Mexican cuisine. We’re proud to have a culinary superstar guiding Moxi. And Chef Olvera’s star continues to shine: check out the profile that Wall Street Journal magazine wrote about him: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323723104578185433693202290.html?mod=wsj_share_tweet&buffer_share=1a6dd&utm_source=buffer

The menu changes often to reflect seasonal specialties, so be sure to visit again soon. And thanks so much for your kind review.

With warm regards,
Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Moxi at the Hotel Matilda is one of my favorite places to eat in San Miguel. Chef Enrique Olvera's selection is refined Mexican cuisine done without pretention. I love the jicama ravioli's and the cuban rice with plantain and egg looked delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Klaudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, Manager at Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Klaudia: Moxi has some very enthusiastic fans in San Miguel – and we’re glad you’re among them. Chef Olvera’s menu is both imaginative and delicious. You can discover something new every time you visit. Keep an eye on our special events: on Feb. 15 our special supper club features three amazing chefs, including Chef Olvera. Hope you’ll join us!

With warm regards,

Bruce James, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

On a friend's recommendation I took guests to the Hotel Matilda for a special dinner. The food was truly the worst I have eaten in SMA and for that matter, the worst dining in many months.They are supposed to have a new chef who comes with high credentials but either he wasn't cooking that night, and/or he has no control over the kitchen. The wine list was the most expensive I have seen in SMA and very ordinary wines. This is a no-go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank sas157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Located within the modern Hotel Matilda, the modern architecture and decor are simply excellent. Ultra modern style immersed in the colonial San Miguel is a nice contrast. The terrace tables are particularly comfortable. If you go, make sure to walk around the hotel reception, lobby and general areas where they have nice decor and art. The service is friendly but still needs a bit more polishing. For drinks we tried the Mojito. Not bad but clearly made in less than 1 minute... lacked the deep lime flavor and the intense taste of mint. The food produced mixed reactions in our case. The courtesy spoon of "aguachile" (sort of raw fish cured in lemon) was excellent. For appetizers we tried the pumpkin soup, the tamal, the beet salad and the aguachile. The aguachile was good, the beet salad was excellent and well served. The tamal was dry and plain and the pumpkin soup had little to separate it from cream plus pumpkin. For main dishes we tried the little chicken, the filet mignon, the fish "zarandeado" and the agnolotti pasta. The fish was by far the best. Perfectly cooked and with a nice "tomatillo" sauce. Tender and juicy. The chicken was also very good. Well cooked and also juicy. A simple but well executed dish. The meet was cold, dry and apparently coming out of the freezer. Its fibers were coming apart and the taste was diluted, almost absent. Not good at all. For dessert we tried the cheesecake and the "mamey" creme brule. Cheesecake was not bad but the portion was minuscule (think one teaspoon out of a NY cheescake) with the pastry pulverized on the side. Well below expectations in flavor and amount served. The creme brulee was good, original, a bit dry. We had a couple of glasses of wine. Had to send one back as it was apparently coming out of the freezer. Very cold. Restaurants should accept the fact that if they are serving wine by the glass, they should at some point, throw out the rest of a bottle and open a new one. No need to keep it ultra cold in order to extract a couple of days more of its life. Worth a visit but be careful what you order and be prepared to pay dearly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rodrigo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Moxi Restaurant Hotel Matilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing