We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English Indian Food - but good”
Review of Bhaji

Bhaji
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“English Indian Food - but good”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This Indian Food restaurant says that is English Indian - whatever, it was very good. Not overly spicy and very tasty. Four of us ate there, each something different and all of us left satisfied. Would definitely go back. The restaurant has very few tables, so go early or late, or I am sure you will have to wait - in the street as there is not waiting area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    46
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun, exotic little spot”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Bhaji is very small, you feel you are in a family owned place. The waiter spoke perfect English and was delightful. He even ran out to the street when we saw a friend in the doorway who didn't hear us call his name and had moved on. The waiter recommended a vegetarian sampler of appetizers. They were all deep fried, which is not my taste, so we ate them, but wouldn't order that again. We shared an entree which could easily have been our entire meal. It was a chicken/vegetable dish with a side of curry. Fantastic. And the nan bread was very yummy with a tray of tasty sauces. We brought half the entree home and my husband loves it the next day. Super value since sharing is enough for two. We're going back today with the friend who had poked his head in the door!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanielleBDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian in the heart of Mexico....”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Some of the best Indian food I have ever had! Dined in the Queretaro location in June and San Miguel last week. Both were delicious. The San Miguel location is a bit more cozy and quaint. Would love it if lamb was added to the menu. Anxious to visit again soon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeaniej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Lake, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“decent curry house”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

for a new kind of meal in SMA, bhaji is a good choice. It is TINY, but I don't think it gets very busy...the decor is very rich, but the tables and paper napkins are a little out of place. service was very friendly and helpful. we ordered the special to share, only 150 pesos with pollo tikka and camarones tandoor - both were FABULOUS (the chicken was tender and flavorful, better that most fancy Indian places I've been to in the states). The Lassi was pretty good, not quite as thick as I'd like but a good flavor. The dessert they offered was merengue with peaches and cream - canned cream, canned peaches, way sweet and had MSG/some funky preservatives in there, we both left feeling the effects...but it was overall an enjoyable meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank abraxasgems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siem riep
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Step into this silk draped Casbah-like restaurant and be beguiled by the fragrant spices, the warm service, and wonderful food. Every dish is made to order, so if you love vindaloo, as I do, they will make it only two peppers hot. The chef is British, taught himself to cook at the age of 16, and he isn't even Indian.,...which I found hard to believe since the food is much like the dishes I had in India last year. We go here every week.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank readySiemRiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bhaji also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Bhaji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing