We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un edible menudo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Alborada

La Alborada
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
san miguel de allende
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Un edible menudo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I love menudo and upon recommendation from a friend I came to this place, my menudo meat is so tough that I can not even chew , I sent it back and ask for a pozole , the pozole was good but I had a better one in the market .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bomberrazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pozole on a Chilly Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Sometimes when the wind blows and the temp drops, nothing beats a steaming bowl of pozole. When it's from a lovely little place right around the corner from the jardin, frequented by locals, at a reasonable price and nicely served, I feel happy to call San Miguel home.
Pozole, either with pork, beef or chicken @60p. Nice glass of house wine @40p. Chips, two salsas and we were good to go for $15 plus tip.
Will return to try the Sopa de tortilla and the Cafe de olla.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boomersooner5154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprising value right off La Jardin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This was my first dinner in SMA. I'm not wealthy. I'm not fancy. I'm in my 30s. I'm traveling solo. I love Mexican food. My college Spanish is coming back very slowly. This was perfect. My total bill for flautas pollo, arroz y frijoles and an Indio cerveza came to $9.26 USD. Tasty, effective food, unexpectedly close to the heart of SMA.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shooflypie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
134 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Visited mostly by locals, this little restaurant is a hidden gem in San Miguel, it is really close to the parroquia near el jardin.

The menu is classic mexican food, nothing espectacular but the taste is really good. Prices are modest for what you get.

We tried enchiladas and milanesa, both were really good. Service is OK as this is considered a "fonda" not a full restaurante.

Give it a try, you will have a nice lunch or dinner at a great price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfernandez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The Pozole at La Alborada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you want a really tasty, filling, wonderful lunch, go to La Alborada and get the pozole-- either pork or chicken; comes with all the sides, onions, radishes, etc... in a huge bowl, piping hot and delicious. I'm told by long time residents of San Miguel, that it's the best in the town. I can only say, it was the best I've ever had!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oborozuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Alborada also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
Saltillo, Coahuila
Saltillo, Coahuila
 

Been to La Alborada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing