We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely looking room but some issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador San Sebastian

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parador San Sebastian
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely looking room but some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We have mixed feelings over this hotel

Pros
Lovely colonial building with big, airy, character-filled rooms
Very affordable price
Great location

Cons
Can be noisy at front of hotel
Bathrooms are quite old and dull - need a spruce up and thorough clean
Staff are completely uninterested in guests and seem to not want to be there - you will be unlikely to receive any assistance or a smile from them
Cages birds are kept in are very small

Overall, if you are on a tight budget I would recommend this hotel. However, if you can spare a little extra money I would try somewhere else.

San Miguel itself was amazing - absolutely gorgeous colonial city with consistently good food and a lovely, laid-back pace. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank raincoat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a lovely little hotel five minutes away from the main places in San Miguel. It's quite basic so you won't get toiletries nor a T.V. but they do provide towels and big comfy rooms. The room itself was very nice, rustic style, we had a wardrobe, a desk and ensuite. It was clean and it had a view of the lovely garden in the middle of the hotel. If you don't like birds don't come here because you can hear them sing all day. At night the room can get a bit cold so you might have to ask for extra blankets although we had one in the wardrobe. The bathroom was spacious, no bath, just a shower. We paid 300 (£15) pesos per night for a double room so it was a great deal, especially considering the location. I won't give it five stars because they don't take reservations so it's a bit of a gamble. We went there during low season and were lucky . During the night people at the front desk close the reception so you might find yourself knocking to get to your room which can be annoying.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sopasopasopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

When it comes to locations, at reasonable prices, you cannot beat this place.
The staff were nice enough, (though reception seems to be shut randomly during the day, or no ones around to help). From what I can tell, the staff speak no english, so get your guidebooks out or be prepared.

A small warning; this hotel does not take bookings. But unless you're in San Miguel in the high season, I wouldn't worry too much.

The rooms are spacious, and clean and You get a small bottle of water every day. The only problem we had in the room was that during the night it was very cold, but this was more of a problem with San Miguel being quite chilly at night during the time we visited.

The courtyard is beautiful, with the singing birds in cages giving a calming atmosphere.

If I go back to San Miguel, I will likely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BearHugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Agree with all the previous comments regarding character and cleanliness. I had room #3, upstairs and to the front. A matrimonial bed and ensuite for M$400 Per night midweek. I swear I must have been the only person staying there. Very quiet except for the talkative budgies during the day. I would have given 5 stars if they had wifi and if the staff could even pretend to be pleased to see me. They were not hostile, just seemed to resent being there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BackpackingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Not a fancy hotel but if you are looking for character, clean rooms, good location and exc value this is the place. Discovered the rooftop terrace for sunset on the 2nd night. Could be great for a large group as well. The only negative that I can think of is that there is no WiFi...had to go to Starbucks for that!......oh and the fact that you can't book ahead. But maybe that is one of its charms and saving graces. We can be sure that all the good reviews won't fill the place in advance of our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joelle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pátzcuaro, Michoacán
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We'd stayed at this budget hotel over 19 years ago. We were pleased to read other TA reviews that generally praised it.
Since our earlier visit, the rooms have been added to and renovated. They are freshly painted in cheerful colors. That's in contrast to our earlier stay, of which I remember a spacious but rather gloomy room, complete with fireplace and (then) kitchenette.

The staff was more attentive and helpful than I expected, given the comments of other TA reviewers.

As others have stated, the rooms size, configurations and qualities vary greatly. Our first choice was #10, on the upper floor. It cost $570 pesos for two matrimonial beds, a large space, a fireplace, and a nice, modern bathroom. There were three windows, one of which opened to the corridor and two, behind the beds, opened to a sitting area overlooking the lower patio. When we checked in, there was a lot of noise of kids at the sitting area outside our room, but it later subsided. The closet was makeshift, an open shelf sort of construction, but adequate.
I should mention that the door lock was barely sufficient, but we were not concerned about security.

The shower worked well, and hot water arrived quickly. Note that no "bath amenities" such as shampoo are provided, but there was plenty of soap and perfectly fine, clean towels. More than enough bottled water was provided, but no glasses. We asked at the desk and were given two, large, disposable glasses.
The beds were firm, everything clean and fresh, and the blankets warm.

In a cost reduction effort, we changed the next morning to a smaller, "triple" room, with a matrimonial and an individual beds. This was habitacíon # 19, down the sometimes windswept corridor towards the back. It's a very cozy nook, but it worked fine for us. Cost was $450 MXN. It would be a Cubist's delight. The showers of this room and its mate across the hall are in a sort of “silo” or “sentry box”. I thought it was charming.

This room had a better door lock, only one tall window opening to the corridor but no fireplace. Despite the cold winds that blew through the hallway, especially in the evening, it was perfectly warm and comfortable.
There was also a nice armoire for storing our things. Really, this modest little room was quite stylish in its way. There was one chair but no table. There just wasn't room for one.

The Parador San Sebastían is convenient to all sorts of stores and services, including two bakeries, two pharmacies, a small supermarket, a cantina, a bus stop, a taxi stand, a park, a typical mercado about two blocks away, a pair of Cremerías selling dairy foods and lunch meats; a tortas restaurant, an Internet cafe. An ice cream and popsicle shop. All within a two block walk. And about 5 to 10 minutes walk to the central plaza, El Jardin. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Walked in on Saturday during Pasqua (Easter) and got a twin room for 450 pesos. The following night the room rate fell to 350 pesos. Very cozy hotel with a nice and quiet inner yard. Very friendly staff despite slight language barrier (I really don't speak much Spanish). Location is very central, just a few blocks from where everything is. Well, SMdA is quite small and you could walk every street in the old downtown during one day. Room was clean (and cleaned well every day) simple and nice. Fan system with OFF and 5 different speeds, though my room #17 was located on the lower floor of the inner yard and fan wasn't needed in April. Overall, I would recommend strongly to anyone looking for a walk-in hotel (no reservations possible) with good quality. I did not notice any of the noise mentioned in earlier posts, and this was despite lots and lots of Easter and Semana Santa events going on in the city during my stay.

If they had Wi-Fi access for clients I would give them five stars for the room as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillermoNPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Dali
Hotel Suites Dali
#64 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#53 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#29 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
#45 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Otel
L'Otel
#24 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador San Sebastian

Property: Parador San Sebastian
Address: Mesones No. 7, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Parador San Sebastian Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing