We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable atmosphere.”

Luna Rooftop Tapas Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Under clear, star-studded skies, the Luna Rooftop Tapas Bar serves up savory authentic Mexican and Spanish tapas that can be enjoyed individually or family style. A tempting, casual place to linger after the day's pursuits, this al fresco setting presents breathtaking views of La Parroquia, the city and magnificent sunsets.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Unbeatable atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Some friends met up for an appetizer and drinks at Luna before heading out for dinner. This is a must-visit location when one is in San Miguel. The panoramic view of the town makes you want to linger as long as possible. We had a glass of Chardonnay with chips and guacamole, which was excellent. If you are cold, ask the server for a blanket. It can get a bit breezy here but despite the openness it is easy to have conversation. The seating is quite comfortable too.

Helpful?
2 Thank LSBurdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    165
    68
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PB Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Best view of SMA, food good service could be better

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairePBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the Lunas”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Best view in all of Centro, especially at sunset. Very romantic...
We live here and bring all our visiting family and friends for tapas and cocktails. Wouldn't miss sharing such a fabulous experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank etpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great sunset view: over priced tapas”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Went on ladies night with some gal pals and enjoyed the festive atmosphere. Our waiter gave us large whimsical sunglasses to wear. 2 for 1 wine is served; however, the portions could be larger. The tapas is overpriced. Go for the view especially at sunset and eat elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar a disappointment”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went to the Rosewood rooftop bar last night. While the view is spectacular, and the furnishings comfortable, the experience was, overall, disappointing and annoying. The prices were incredibly expensive. The service is shoddy, both the wait service and the kitchen. We waited over an hour for Tapas, then had to ask the rushed and unfriendly waiter repeatedly for plates on which to eat it. When the bill came, we were charged for a dish we hadn't ordered. A place like this, with this upscale locale and these prices, should be impeccably run.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ex_Patty151932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodSanMiguel, General Manager at Luna Rooftop Tapas Bar, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Ex_Patty151932,

Thank you for your comments, each one is highly appreciated and I guarantee that we are working on the problems you have mentioned to assurance that the service we provide, totally exceed your expectations.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Luna Tapas Bar, and be able to change your perception.

Sincerely,

Christian Tavelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rooftop Tapas Bar also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Luna Rooftop Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing