We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, fresh and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mesa Grande

La Mesa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A hip bakery + cafe in San Miguel de Allende serving your favourite bread, pastries, salads, sandwiches and wood-burning oven pizza throughout the day. To complement our baked goodies, try a cold craft beer from Mexico, wine by the glass or bottle or sit down and join others in conversation with a delicious latte, cappuccino or iced coffee at La Mesa Grande! Now accepting Visa, MasterCard and debit, as well as your hard-earned cash!
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty, fresh and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ate a great cinnamon roll and good coffee here on a recent Saturday morning. Had lunch a few days later. Nice, quality ingredients and friendly, helpful service. Fresh bread, croissants and pastries are great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs8971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    68
    36
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,on
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fix your tomatoe sauce it's wretched...nada savor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

First off the amber ale was too fuzzy in the mouth...I've personally crafted lots of homemade beer over the years...and theirs needs work...it's really not a smooth ale. The pizza maybe was ok by san miguel allende standards....but was nothing special....the tomatoe sauce is an important component of the pizza...it had little flavour...its not difficult to make a nice tomatoe sauce....Hint, garlic....sea salt....basil..oregano........the topping selection was suitable but the pizza crust definitely was picking up a strong odour from the wood being used in the wood oven. It reminded me of a cedar smoke....great when grilling fish not so nice flavour when your pizza is scented this way. Another suggestion would be some relaxing music because the demeanour of the owners was tense and not a relaxing environment. All these things can be easily fixed with some effort.
Better quality pizza can be had at pizza pig outside of town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_onCanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMesaGrande, Owner at La Mesa Grande, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hello Toronto_onCanuk,

Our home brew is called La Mesa Grande and is a pale ale- you had the amber ale, which is called- and made in- Queretaro, and which we have no control over, as we have no affiliation with their brewery. We make the pizza sauce in-house... and most people absolutely love it. Sorry your opinion is that it has no flavour. We use everything you suggested- as well as a secret ingredient given to us by an Italian foodie here in San Miguel- but no oregano. Maybe that's the key ingredient you like to taste in your pizza. If so, we have oregano available and can add it to your pizza before serving it to you.

The wood used in the oven on the evening you visited us was a problem and has been changed- it was a one-time supplier, as our regular supplier ran out and could not get more for us that week. We usually use mezquite wood, which does add to the flavour of the pizza like you suggested. The wood the other supplier gave us that day did have a stronger odour, and we have not used it again- it also created too much smoke, and left the whole restaurant with a strong smell. Sorry your visit to La Mesa Grande occurred while were here in those few days.

Please come back and give us another try- we always try to be welcoming and inviting with all of our guests. If we, the owners seemed tense, it may have been because of the problem with the wood or the fact that we were very busy on the pizza night that you attended and were missing one of our staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really really love La Mesa Grande!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Pizza Margarita was fantastic! Lots of fresh basil, thin crust, tons of very tasty tomatoes (organic??), it was VERY hard to leave a piece behind for lunch the next day. Very reasonable prices, and great selection of beer & wine. The sourdough bread baked on-site was fantastic, and that's coming from someone who lived in the City for 15 years. (San Fran). Loved the "big table", it's a nice way to meet others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place in the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

They have great coffee, baked goods and tasty lunch! We have been a few times on this stay! The staff is friendly!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Troupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You are treated like family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the nicest place for Italian in San Miguel. They have a lovely courtyard and the restaurant is light and airy. The food is always good. We have been dining here for four years and have never had a bad meal. They have a wonderful set price menu for lunch and everything on this menu is great.

We have been here for lunch and dinner and the staff is so warm and caring. They treat you like members of their family. We love to dine here for the food and for the wonderful staff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mesa Grande also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to La Mesa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing