We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mask Museum

Mask Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: By appointment
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Fantastic collection of masks that were actually worn by dancers throughout Mexico. Video actually showed the dances and dancers

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anmleyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    32
    2
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth making an appointment to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I went with friends who were into masks and wound up being enthralled myself. I finally understand the Katerina skeleton and Day of the Dead! Heidi did a wonderful job with the tour, and I especially loved the time in the folk art part. Great gift shop. Although there is no fee, a small donation is requested which is given to a local day care facility, a very worthy cause. Having a chance to see their beautiful B&B was an added bonus. Taxi ride there is recommended, but it's an easy walk back to town down the hill. This place is truly a place of passionate interest for the owners, which is effectively shared with visitors.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A labor of love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Bill has created an amazing collection of Mexican folk art masks and he has a great depth of knowledge which makes this trip worth it even if you do not think you are really interested in masks. The masks are artfully displayed and thoughtfully arranged. You must call ahead for an appointment. One tip- if you are walking there wear good shoes it's on one of San Miguel's many hills.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique museum with friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited the museum as part of a group tour to San Miguel de Allende. It was a little hard to find, but it was well worth it. The house itself is beautiful (makes you want to move to Mexico straightaway), and the owners offered plenty of information about the mask collection and Mexico in general. Would love to stay in the gorgeous BnB if I ever come back!

Note: Make sure you have a reservation before coming to the museum. The museum is basically a guided tour by the owner, so you need to warn them in advance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sallyfahrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Incredible Collection, facinating stories, worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a private collection that is housed in a beautiful B&B. As noted in previous reviews, you can't just wander in - a reservation is required. Bill responded within a few hours to my e-mailed request and offered several days and times from which to choose. This fascinating collection includes an incredible number and variety of masks from throughout Mexico, with descriptive information and insights into the history and use. My only complaint is that we were included into a group of about 10 other people, who moved through IMHO much too quickly. I wanted to spend a longer time reading the information and looking at the displays, but was soon left behind. May have to go back for another tour!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravlingalDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mask Museum also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Mask Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing