We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of San Miguel captured on canvas in a single session!”

Cristi Fer Art Gallery and Workshops
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Original paintings and photography created by the founders Mexican muralist Fernando Gonzalez & artist therapist Cristiana .Contemporary fine art. Abstract, Realistic, Expressionist. Custom designed art lessons for your level of experience. One day no experience to one month advanced. All materials included
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed May 6, 2017

In mid-April this year I took Fernando's four-hour workshop in acrylic painting. Although I had painted in the past, I learned many useful things about color and technique and gained a lot of self-confidence in the use of the medium. Fernando is a highly organized and results-oriented instructor. Students work in a large, well-lit space where all the materials are meticulously laid out before each class. Students pick a photo of a building façade in San Miguel from several hanging on the wall, and Fernando takes them through the process of creating a realistic painting based on the photo. I was quite impressed by two things in particular: (a) Fernando's ability to break down the process into simple, straightforward steps, and (b) his respect for the student's work, in the sense that he never touches the student's canvas himself. Instead, he illustrates his points on a sheet of craft paper laid out on a table so that, in the end, what the student creates is truly his own work, not half his own and half the teacher's. This makes the students come away with a sense of achievement. As for the cost of the four-hour session (US$ 90.00), it is very reasonable in my view. The fee covers the use of paints and brushes plus the cost of one stretched canvas, and $22.50 per hour is a pretty small sum for a class by a talented, experienced painter with a higher degree from one of Mexico's best schools of fine arts and a solid, didactic approach. The class is intended, above all, to have the students enjoy themselves while gaining familiarity with basic techniques and getting immediate results. Fernando is easy to talk to and is patient in answering questions. All of this enhances the experience. I highly recommend his workshop.

1  Thank 221happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana M, Owner at Cristi Fer Art Gallery and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thank you for all the kind remarks. It was my privilege to work with you and I hope you will continue painting! I am confident you will have great resoults
Maestro Fernando Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"painting class"
in 26 reviews
"painting experience"
in 8 reviews
"doors and windows"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend taking a class"
in 3 reviews
"san miguel"
in 68 reviews
"tequila bottles"
in 2 reviews
"patient instructor"
in 2 reviews
"teaching techniques"
in 2 reviews
"satisfying experience"
in 2 reviews
"bright colors"
in 2 reviews
"step by step"
in 3 reviews
"original paintings"
in 2 reviews
"fun class"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful instructor"
in 3 reviews
"hour class"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful memory"
in 2 reviews
"four hours"
in 3 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 170 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2017

We had a tremendous time at Cristi Fer. The hours slipped by without us even realizing it. Cristi is an awesome and patient teacher. We had never painted before and I am still blown away by the results. The colors of San Miguel have always been inspiring and spending a morning learning how to paint, and trying to capture maybe just a bit of the magic was great. I can highly recommend both the experience, the teacher and the results. And the 2nd floor studio is perfect for a small group. Me gusto mucho. Tuvimos un rato maravilloso

Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiana M, Owner at Cristi Fer Art Gallery and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Thank you for all the comments. We are so happy when participants feel the way you describe!
Looking forward to paint with you in the near feature!

Cristi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

I took a week long art workshop from these talented artists. The first two days included information about colour how to mix it to achieve different hues. Great information about basics of colour wheel and instruction and demonstration on using different strokes and on use of palette knife. I also learned a variety of ways to use texture and came home with several paintings. I was fortunate to work with Cristina who is also an art therapist which was helpful during our sessions together. Excellent experience!!!

Thank thaisturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

I was quite surprised the picture that I created. Fernando broke the task down and provide individual help to understand each step of the process. Though I got frustrated he was encouraging and patient. I have a beautiful picture to remind me of the experience and San Miguel. Thank you.

1  Thank sseu2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtandStaff, Owner at Cristi Fer Art Gallery and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thanks for your post! Your opinion is very important to me. Many of our workshop participants turn to TripAdvisor to insure their time and $ is spend wisely.
I enjoyed working with you and your willingness to learn and have fun reflect in your painting! Your result speaks for itself!
Thank you
Fernando Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2017

I took a four-hour painting class at Cristi Fer, and as advertised, I completed my oil painting during the session, while also gaining very helpful coaching and tips from Fernando, my instructor. Another student took the class with me, and she finished her painting, too. Definitely learned a lot and also had a great time.

Thank rightr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtandStaff, Owner at Cristi Fer Art Gallery and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to give me the review. Every workshop participant is important to me! And you were an excellent student! If you keep painting I am confident in you will have great results!
Fernando Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cristi Fer Art Gallery and Workshops also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Cristi Fer Art Gallery and Workshops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing