We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Adventure”

Cooking Classes with Paco Cardenas
North Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Grand Adventure”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husand and I recently bought a place in San Miguel and are still trying to figure out what this magical place is all about. While picking up his favorite treat at El Petit Four Chip noticed that Paco taught a cooking class and we signed up. I think his class is truly the best adventure we have has in San Miguel. Paco took us through the local market and taught us to be "locals", showing us the best places to buy, how to pick the right foods and which food places to trust. I have several food allergies and Paco created a meal for us that allowed me to eat everything cooked! The day was magical in all ways. From the setting in his back yard, to learning the difference in chilies to becoming comfortable with the delightful ways of Mexican cooking and finally our truly wonderful meal. It is a day we look forward to having again when we are back in San Miguel.
Thank you Paco for turning a cooking class into a slice of life in San Miguel!!!

Chip and Laurie Larson

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie771_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The best, bar none.”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have taken many cooking classes, and many Mexican cooking classes. While good, none approach Paco's classes. Paco leads his group through the market to shop for the upcoming meal. Students meet the farmers and vendors, and learn about local ingredients. These vendors remembered us during the rest of our stay and often gave us an extra mango, or another small bonus, when shopping with them. Clearly, Paco is respected here.
Cooking classes and hands-on and not demo, as if often the case. Recipe packets are ready at your arrival to his beautiful outdoor kitchen, with clear instructions. These are handy when you return home and want to recreate his dishes, as surely you will. Paco gives his students a true education of authentic Mexican cuisine, which is not often understood outside of the country. His recipes work flawlessly, and he is a patient and caring teacher. Paco wants his students to succeed, and to enjoy the day. My family and I have taken two classes with Paco, and they were worth every peso and more. When we make Paco's dishes at home we are transported back to lovely San Miguel and our happy memories there. During your vacation be sure to stop in at Paco's bakery, El Petit Four, on Mesones.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank atateka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend a Day”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We began our tour with Darling Paco (owner of a terrific french bakery) at a store where we could purchase comals, lime squeezers --gizmos specific to Mexico. Then we went to the central market where Paco explained all the unfamiliar veggies, fruits, grains and spices. We sampled lots of foods that we wouldnt have dared on our own. He showed us the best cheese lady, the fresh garbanzos. Then we went to his gorgeous home where we prepared a fabulous meal with our groceries. It not only was a great lesson in cooking (making tortillas from scratch) but a delicous Comida. We would recommend this day to anyone who wants a truly Cocina Mexicana experience. (look at the website)

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank melaniejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Three friends and I took a cooking class with Paco Cardenas, and it was a wonderful day. His tour of the market in San Miguel, introducing us to vendors and showing us traditional foods, gave us a look at an important part of San Miguel that we otherwise would not have seen. He is charming, and highly informative. This was followed by a trip to his lovely home and outdoor kitchen, where we learned to cook about eight dishes - just the right combination of hands-on and demonstration. This was truly a highlight of our trip - and I would recommend this to anyone visiting San Miguel.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best day of our trip to San Miguel de Allende”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Chef Paco made our day so special and fun. He met us in town and took us to the local market for a quick tour, then we went to his beautiful house for our cooking class. He showed up with shopping bags for each of us with recipes inside and paper for taking notes. We were a group of 9 so we took turns doing the cooking. The indoor/outdoor kitchen is spacious and gorgeous. We learned how to make about 8 different things while we spent the afternoon. Almost everyone in our group is really into cooking and were very excited to learn some new tricks. There was a bartender there pouring margaritas from the minute we arrived. It was like an all-day party with excellent food, and new friends (Paco). I absolutely recommend this for people who like to cook, and for their friends who just want to hang out and eat great food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Abbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking Classes with Paco Cardenas also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Cooking Classes with Paco Cardenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing