We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum Quality Arts and Crafts in the serene outskirts of San Miguel”
Review of Galeria Atotonilco

Galeria Atotonilco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are open BY APPOINTMENT only and usually have an Open House the last weekend of every month from noon to 5 pm. Please check our weekly ad in Atencion for directions to the gallery and contact information. Please note: We are NOT a "Museum" or an "Attraction." One of the largest and highest quality folk art collections in all of Mexico, on a gorgeous country property in an architecturally spectacular, much-published building, Galeria Atotonilco is a ten-minute drive north of town. It is an eye-dazzling array of a huge variety of folk art, from funny to exquisite, from all over Mexico. Folk art is a direct route to the true heart of Mexico: it's history, it's traditions, it's myths and legends, it's diverse cultures. Items in all price ranges can be shipped anywhere. We suggest you visit us early in your trip when you have not spent all your money and when shipping can be arranged if necessary. Even if you know little about folk art, we guarantee you will be amazed at the diversity, and we love sharing our knowledge with you. In addition to folk art, you will see country antique furniture, vintage textiles of great beauty, and historic photographs of 19th century Mexico. Within a mile is the historic church of Atotonilco, and the gorgeous country restaurant, Nirvana. Plan to spend at least an hour in our gallery. The time will fly by. Many visitors report that this gallery was the highlight of their visit to San Miguel.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Museum Quality Arts and Crafts in the serene outskirts of San Miguel”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a must stop in San Miguel de Allende for those seeking to purchase or view what might be the best curated crafts collection in central Mexico.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank StylishTravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    17
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A admirable place and experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very few places show the richness there is in Mexico's with such detail and awareness.
Whether you are looking for a precious or unique piece, this is the place.
Meeting Mayer Shacter, is a privilege, he is an example of passion for mexican folklore.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“FABULOUS folk art gallery in a gorgeous setting!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We've been to Galeria Atotonilco many times and it's always a treat! The fork art collection is superb and the price are good as well. The owners, Susan and Mayer, are so friendly and willing to share their knowledge of Mexican handicrafts and artists. The location outside San Miguel de Allende is beautiful and seeing their gallery and home is an added attraction. We love to introduce visiting friends to the Galeria. We usually combine our trip to Galeria Atotonilco with a stop at Nirvana restaurant nearby for a perfect day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gallery Atotonilco”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Gallery Atotonilco in San Miguel de Allende is a feast for the eye and mind. Gallery owner Mayer Shacter possesses the two indispensable qualities of the true collector, passion and knowledge, and the Mexican folk art in the gallery is more a collaboration between collector and artist than merely items for sale. Shacter considers the gallery artists his extended family, and he frequently travels to almost inaccessible locations throughout Mexico to obtain only the finest examples of the artists’ work.

Gallery Atotonilco is the one gallery in San Miguel not to be missed.

Louise and James Murphy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jl_murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Galeria Atotonilco: A wonderful collection of folk art”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Galeria Atotonilco is a must stop for anyone who lives in, or visits San Miguel de Allede, Mexico.
The gallery is located just outside of San Miguel and can be reached by taxi, combining it with a visit to the town of Atotonilco.
Susan and Mayer have put together and exceptional collection of glass and folk art. The owners are knowledgeable and have a very broad understanding of the art that is proudly made in Mexico. Most of the art is displayed with a photo of the artist and the actual piece that is in the gallery. I love this very personal connection. The gallery is situated in a beautiful modern setting that is worth the trip out on it's own, and the warm reception of the owners makes visiting this gallery a delight.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shariewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galeria Atotonilco also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Galeria Atotonilco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing