We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sazon Cooking Class”
Review of Sazon

Sazon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sazón is San Miguel de Allende’s premier tabletop store and cooking school, housed in a magnificent 18th century casa in the heart of this charming colonial town in the highlands of central Mexico. Sazón is the cooking school of Hotel Casa de Sierra Nevada, and is open to everyone, not only guests of the hotel.
The Villages, Fl.
1 review
“Sazon Cooking Class”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had a Great time with Emmanuel at the class. I had the good fortune to attend a small class of 4 people so we got to do "Hands On" and it was great. Learned some new things beyond Tex-mex cooking. If you can go while in SMA, be sure to and if you're lucky enough, go to the class that goes to the market before hand (extra 1 hour). That part was super and should be included in all classes. Enjoy !!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    25
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Learn to cook local”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We took the Market and cooking lesson (3 hours). First we went to the market to learn how to purchase the local ingredients for meal.
Then we returned and everyone participates in cooking meal. Very instructive and the best lunch I had the entire trip. A great experience by itself, not to mention you can bring the skill home and hopefully recreate such a meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbellal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a fun cooking experience”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Three of us joined a group of about 8 other women for a "Local Food" cooking class. We had a really positive experience.

1. The chief was very charming and explained the techniques very well. His English was excellent
2. It was a hands-on class where each person could participate as much as she wanted.
3. We had fun meeting the other women
4. The food was very flavorful and we will use the recipes at home.
5. The setting and kitchen facilities were top-notch.
6. The cost of the class (which included the prepared food for lunch with local beer or fruit drinks) was very reasonable by US standards,

All in all, a top notch experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank whoamiwhoknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Our cooking class at Sazon was a highlight of our week long stay in SMA.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Emanuel toured us through the nearby produce market and introduced us to people and food items. Alone, I would never have eaten at the market for fear of stomach problems. My family of six all enjoyed the tour and it gave us confidence to return on our own to buy food to cook at our apartment. The cooking class was fun, the meal was delicious and I have used the recipes they gave us since I have been home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LKathrynHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sazon Mexican Cooking class San Miguel d'Allende”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The class we attended at Sazon was a highlight of our month in San Miguel. Emanuel showed us how to make 3 Mexican dishes and his instruction was excellent. He very warmly and effectively involved everyone who wanted to participate in the actual cooking. He was well organized and our class, just over 2 hours long, was filled with information, instruction and fun. The meal that we shared at the end of the class was superb. I asked Emanuel if we could learn to cook Chiles en Nogada and he willingly met our request. The setting for the cooking class is designed with mirrors and TV cameras directed at the preparation and cooking of the food so it was very easy to see all that was happening during the lesson. I highly recommend this cooking experience at Sazon. Jan

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank leavinghomeJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sazon also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Sazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing