We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cooking/demonstraion classes with a shop of ceramics by know Mexican artesians.”
Review of Sazon

Sazon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sazón is San Miguel de Allende’s premier tabletop store and cooking school, housed in a magnificent 18th century casa in the heart of this charming colonial town in the highlands of central Mexico. Sazón is the cooking school of Hotel Casa de Sierra Nevada, and is open to everyone, not only guests of the hotel.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Have a limited but excellent selection of ceramics from Mexico from well known artisans. If you are looking for quality and willing to pay for it, make a visit. The cooking classes are fun and informative, such as the trip to the mercado and then coming away with the recipes of the dishes made.

1  Thank RaeKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Sazon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 215 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

A girl’s trip to San Miguel was highlighted by our cooking classes at Sazon. We signed up for Tuesday class which included a trip to the local fresh market with their chef, Emanuel. He led us through the beautiful town stopping first at a fresh citrus roasted chicken store, carnitas market, and tortilla shop. After that on to the fresh produce market to buy the day's fresh ingredients to prepare our recipes. The first day we learned how to make Chicken quesadillas, squash bloom blue corn quesadillas, Nopales, sopitos and fresh guacamole and salsa! Then we got to eat everything, so delicious! We loved the classes so much we signed up again for Thursday! The kitchen is beautiful and everything is so clean and fresh. Emanuel was fantastic to work with and very knowledgeable!

1  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

spent a 1/2 day thre and it was a more fun. Cooked our lunch and then ate it. Bought coffee cups, pots, and other kitchen stuff. the teacher was Eduado and he was fun and spoke great english. (he used to work in Dallas)

1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Sazon, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Dear Dan,
Thank you for kind comments! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your cooking class and our tabletop store! We look forward to welcome you again for another cooking class!

Kind Regards,

The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

the staff was super attentive and the accomadations were not only beautiful but efficient

Thank 512marta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, General Manager at Sazon, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Dear 512marta,
Many Thhanks for your comments! We appreciate the time you took to write about our Cooking School. We would love to welcome you again for another cooking experience!

Kind Regards,

The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Chef Emanuel was personable and fun. This was hands on if you wanted it to be which we did His English was excellent making it that much more enjoyable. You must do this in San Miguel

1  Thank Gorezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Gerente at Sazon, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear emilymolly,
Many Thanks for your kind comments! We are really happy to hear you really enjoyed your cooking class with Emanuel. We look forward to welcome you again, so you can try another of our authentic cooking classes.

Kind Regards,

The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sazon also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Sazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing