We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muro Cafe

Muro Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: MuRo Named after the two surnames of one of the two guys who own it, Cafe MuRo open in Loreto Street stayed there from May 2010 to recently when it moved to its new venue at 1 San Gabriel St. in the beautiful Barrio del Obraje, just few setos from Fabrica La Aurora. It has been known for the quality of food and friendship of the staff- Cafe MuRo is a prestigious establishment well known for its cozy and homey atmosphere and popularity with locales and foreigners. Many regulars bring out-of-town visitors who want to get a "feel" of Mexican flavors in a not pretentious place. Cafe MuRo is much more a pleasant than the location might suggest. Not much to look at from the street, until you spy the delicacies within. The menu consists of simple, well-cooked, fresh and traditional Mexican food. Wonderful home-bread and soups, salad, good-sized portions, and fair prices make it a great place for everybody. Staff is friendly and helpful. When you come to MuRo, you are guaranteed a good meal and friendly service everybody time. Highlights include breakfast all day, a salad to die for and strong Mexican cofee that will knock you out. We assure you that once you are sitting in Cafe MuRo enjoying its food and service, you might want to stay longer that you originally tought! See you soon!
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great Food, very friendly people. Also a great place to meet people. I especially recommend the "Chiles en Nogada"

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirena_Austriaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo A, Propietario at Muro Cafe, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinions. Our team has the best interests of our customers at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required.
I will enjoy sharing your comments with the team members involved.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    98
    38
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A favorite for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions for breakfast and a special thanksgiving dinner. We have always found the service to be consistently top notch, the guys are engaging, very friendly and quick to make you feel welcome. Our breakfast experiences have also been consistent - excellent food, good portions and reasonably priced. At our recent thanksgiving dinner, we were again treated to excellent service. We didn't think the dinner was up to normal standards for this restaurant unfortunately, value was not there and the quality of the food was lacking. Mashed potatoes were a bit overdone, portions were not big, dressing (I think?) was not good and everything on the plate was sweet - no contrast. We will definately keep this restaurant on our list just for the service alone but will stick to what they do best - breakfasts and brunches.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerJJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo A, Propietario at Muro Cafe, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinions. Our team has the best interests of our customers at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required.
I will enjoy sharing your comments with the team members involved.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were recommended to Muro by several friends and we're happy to join them in praise of this cafe which is open for breakfast and lunch. One of the proprietors greeted us warmly and made great recommendations. We loved the Mexican dishes. He inquired where we had visited and gave us many more ideas of places to see. Our second visit was equally pleasurable and he welcomed us like old friends - we only wished he was open in the evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo A, Propietario at Muro Cafe, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinions. Our team has the best interests of our customers at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required.
I will enjoy sharing your comments with the team members involved.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've eaten there several times in the past few months. The service was very good but found the food bland to say the least. I really believe this restaurant is somewhat over rated.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SMAPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo A, Propietario at Muro Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It is very disappointing to recieve a comment like this, but thanks for taking your time to write down your experience. Please be advised that we work hard to offer good food and friendly service, and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you would like to contact me directlly and share your experience, please call the restaurant and ask for Gerardo. Please keep in mind that all comments, either good or bad are very wellcome always because knowing them it allows us to transform our possible mistakes into strenghts. Thank you again, and we look forward in hearing from you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little gem of a restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant and it was everything the previous reviews had said about this place. The service was great and the meal was the best in a town that has some really great restaurants. I had a scary experience of getting some food stuck in my throat while dining but the owner could not have been more attentive and helpful to me during and after this awful event. I'm sure it's not something he has to deal with on a daily basis, but he was marvelous. We plan on going back soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travlelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo A, Propietario at Muro Cafe, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinions. Our team has the best interests of our customers at heart and we are always available for assistance whenever it is required.
I will enjoy sharing your comments with the team members involved.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muro Cafe also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Muro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing