We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent charming basic hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Posada de las Monjas
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located in a charming old building nice courtyard
Very close to the main square and cathedral. Short walk to good restaurants.
Staff local very helpful and friendly
Rooms very basic and clean

Loved it. Would stay here again for sure

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dbdurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Except for the lack of television, this was a very enjoyable stay for us. The hotel is attractively laid out, with lots of terraces with great views of the city. There are flowering plants all over the property, along with the birds and butterflies they attract. The staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The service is horrible, the rooms small and dirty, the bed was broken, the door had an opening, the window wouldn´t close properly, but whats incredible is that the place is run by cockroaches. I complained and they gave me another room, and the new one was even worse, I counted 15 cockroaches alive and dead. They refuse to give my money back, and this last saturday (June 29, 2013) at 2:30 am they kicked us out because I wanted another room or my money back.
Also, they didn´t wanted to open the garage doors for me, and they only did because I threaten to call the police.
GET AWAY!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pike44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Posada de las Monjas last year and enjoyed it very much. I recently came across a family video where my wife, kids and I commented on how nice this place was and how lucky we were to have found it; that prompted me to write this review! We lost track of time, and decided to stay in SMA for the night. On a recommendation from an ex-pat, we walked over to the hotel to check for vacancies. We were fortunate to find a couple of rooms for our entire family. I was very excited to learn they provided private parking a few blocks away. The rooms were nice and clean. Our room was a bit noisy due to it being facing the street...the kids loved that. They felt they got to experience some of the night life, while in the safety of the room. Overall, very pleased with the find. We will undoubtedly stay there in a future visit to San Miguel de Allende!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the past couple of decades and I found it is still an unbeatable value. The rooms vary in size but they are comfortable and clean, there is plenty of hot water, and free parking is provided in a guarded lot right at the hotel. It is only a couple of blocks to the principal plaza. I could not believe the price! It has to be the lowest in San Miguel for what you get. My room on my last visit (March 2013) had a living room with a fire place and a huge tiled bath. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable although I would have liked a better pillow. The restaurant is good and reasonable and there is a bar. The hotel is often booked during holidays and vacation. I found a rate on one of the top internet sites but since I wasn't sure of my arrival, I called. They said they had rooms so I didn't worry. The rate was 1/3 less than the internet site. If you want to splurge, SMA has many super hotels and B&Bs at super prices. I'll definitely stay here the next time I am in SMA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oaxacaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here during the week with 2 other couples and what a place, it is gorgeous, huge, had great secure parking and lots of rooms to choose from. Each room had a fireplace in it which we ended up not using and it was late Nov. Rooms only have double beds but you can get more than one, staff speaks English and the lobby was very nice. No TV's or phones but when you are on vacation who needs them. This is Mexico folks. 2 blocks from the Jardin and the beautiful church, we all felt very safe even out at night.
The only negative we have is that they charged for coffee, but if you want it you will pay.
We would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #39
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 197JulieH197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel is very well located, within walking distance from most of the interesting places, and has parking space (something very hard to find in SMA).
The rates are very accesible, and sometimes the rooms are not that clean (Ive stayed there on several occasions) and the towels are very very old. There is no TV or phone (but if your are at SMA, what do you want them for).

It is a very good option if you are in a budget.

WARNING: Never let them give you the rooms at the back of the hotel, there´s a property behind the hotel that is pretty much a farm, and the roosters and other animals wont let you sleep in.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms at the back of the hotel. Pick the ones at the center. The ones close to the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#59 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Carmina Hotel
Posada Carmina Hotel
#37 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#27 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
#39 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#8 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de las Monjas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de las Monjas

Address: Canal # 37, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $25 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Monjas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing