We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best grill in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Virundela - CLOSED

La Virundela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Virundela: es una aventura gourmet de la gastronomia tradicional argentina.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best grill in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This unique restaurant has an Argentinian owner/grillmeister, an Uruguayan cook, and an Italian waiter. It is also the best grilled steak restaurant in San Miguel.

Ricardo is the grill master, and he will cook you a perfect steak to your order, perhaps with a grilled chorizo as an appetizer. If you ask him to show you the custom-made, hardwood-fired grill, he will be happy to do so. And you should. Marco, the waiter from Milan, formerly at Mi Vida, will serve you at an indoor or outdoor table and will be happy to recommend a selection from their South American and Italian wine list. DeDée is the Uruguayan cook and also Ricardo's wife.

You need to make a reservation. The restaurant has a buzz-in front door that discourages foot traffic. It's not the kind of place you're likely to just stumble into. However, the reservation is well worth the minimal effort.

In addition to having the best grilled meat in town, you will also make friends with Ricardo, DeDée and Marco. Do that. You'll want to come back again and again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jfmcd60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    36
    12
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chapel hill
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a unique restaurant. They will make whatever you want if you call ahead. We had the pork and it was terrific!! I told the chef I lusted for an old fashioned hip sirloin, which he called a " sexy steak" who cares. Next time I' in town that's what I'm ordering. Great service, great wine and great new friends at this restaurant. This is a great place to have dinner. Merci to the chef and our server!


Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank joannahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Three of us dined at La Virundela at the end of February. The restaurant has a beautiful ambience. After we ordered, the owner brought us to the cooking area to see the grill and how the meats were prepared. He was lovely as was our waiter, Marco, who was from Italy. We had a delicious bottle of Malbec wine, an appetizer of empanadas, and each had a different steak dish that was so wonderfully prepared and tasty. By the end of our meal we were all very full so we shared a Caramel Flan for dessert. We all enjoyed ourselves very much and are looking forward to going back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Friskyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Criticizing restaurants prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Two of us went to La Virundela on a Wednesday night at 7:30 - no one was there and no one ever came in before we left at 9:00. The prices are not $15-$30 as stated. We split a rib eye, split a caprese salad and ordered their special French fries. We each had 2 glasses of wine, coffee and flan.....the bill was $60 EACH........we will not recommend this restaurant. Service was great and ambience quiet. No children allowed. We rechecked the bill twice to make sure we were not mistaken with the price EACH.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanne1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal at La Virundela on February 26th. The steaks were awesome, the salad fresh and flavourful and the wine delicious. The server was attentive, professional and friendly. We were offered a tour of the grill area and entertained by the talented chef. The entire evening was an experience not to be missed. A and J Dean, Ontario, Canada

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Virundela also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing