We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very authentic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tacos Don Felix En la Casa

Tacos Don Felix En la Casa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Familiar atmosphear
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This restaurant started as a small taco stand, word spread of his food and soon he was expanding many times over. It used to be a secret for locals- when we were taken there the first time we were sworn to secrecy. Try the plate of seven different tacos- delicious. It's not easy to find, it's in the middle of a neighborhood, but worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank itsmemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    36
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cabo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its difficult to know where to start! Definitely an authentic Mexican restaurant, family run. Gloria is in the kitchen cooking the most delicious Mexican food we have ever had, Felix is front of house making everyone feel welcome and providing excellent service. We went two days running for lunch on our 4 night stay. When you sit down you are served an 'antojito' of shredded pork in green sauce (out of this world). Drinks are promptly brought and then comes the decision time: what to have!! As it was Independence week-end they had a special of Chile en Nogado and as that's my favourite I ordered it and it was sublime, mild poblano chile stuffed with a mixture of ground beef, fruit and spices (almost middle eastern in flavor) smothered in a creamy walnut sauce and garnished with pomegranate seeds). The rest of the group had Ribs (melt in the mouth), filet with 2 sauces (mushroom and blue cheese), the special enchiladas, Flank Steak, house salad. Everything was perfect. The restaurant is also so pretty! as you enter through the covered courtyard you are greeted by chirping birds, then you enter the main restaurant which is beautifully decorated, colourful and charming. This place is a must!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaboDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Pefect Authentic Mexican Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tacos Don Felix is my absolute favorite restaurant in San Miguel. From the lovely atmosphere to the singing canaries in the courtyard by the bubbling fountain to the beautiful paintings and artwork inside the atmosphere is superb.

The cusine is authentic Mexican with upscale steakhouse items and fresh fish. Don Felix and his family operate this gem and you will feel the family's warm embrace the second you walk in the door.

Even if I'm only in town for a week we hit Tacos Don Felix at least twice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmh414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
364 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I each ordered a garden salad and they were large and excellent, Felix even called for a taxi to pick us up from our hotel and then take us back, anyway back to food we each ordered a margarita and they were really good, my wife ordered the 7taco sampler and she liked them all very much, I ordered the flank steak, enchilada with rice and beans an they were all very good and a nice size portion of the steak, overall the food was excellent as well as the service. Highly advise to check it out in this awesome beautiful town. The restaraunt also has great atmosphere and is beautiful inside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randy7496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best food and margaritas in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Family ran restaurant with the best food, drinks and service you will receive. I dined here with several friends and we all ordered different entrees and each were excellent. I highly recommend you try this restaurant and see for yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Don Felix En la Casa also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Tacos Don Felix En la Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing