We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of hype and lots of noise with friendly service!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tacos Don Felix En la Casa

Tacos Don Felix En la Casa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Familiar atmosphear
New York City
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lots of hype and lots of noise with friendly service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were walking down Hernandez Macias and someone handed us a coupon for free drinks!
When we took a look at it, we realized it was a restaurant that was highly recommended on TA so off we went in a taxi! They didn't seem to have our reservation and the place was jammed but they magically produced a table and some huge magaritas (which they ended up charging us for so I'm not sure what the coupon was all about) We all had tacos ...in honor of the name of the place! Although we inquired first about the degree of "heat", we all felt they were too spicey for us. That's not necessarily a bad thing for everyone - just a tip ! The main issue I think was the intense level of noise - I never knew so many gringos could be in one place at one time and they all were having a good time. It just didn't do it for me.....although the atmosphere is fun, I am not sure it lives up to the hype.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    36
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“delicious mexican meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was happily surprised. excellent service by the owner, the food is soooooo good, just don´t expect to have "tacos" there. Mostly, now, the restaurant serves mexican dishes. Only 1 dish includes an array of 7 different "tacos". Prices are very reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JavierGdelaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, okay food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Only open fri, sat, sun. Very american spin with a typical U.S. 'steak house' spin on menu offerings. Food pretty good but not the fave. Service was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kay_dubb_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“San Miguel Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a San Miguel tradition. You cannot visit without dining in this excellent restaurant. A bit out of the way, you will need a car or taxi, but it is a must go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Cuori1Capanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
191 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Outrageously Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Upon entering Don Felix's our party of 8 was warmly greeted at the door by Don Felix and his lovely family. Even his wife, master chef came out from the kitchen to say hello and give us hugs. The service is impeccable, margaritas perhaps the best in San Miguel and food, always excellent and portions large. I love the enchiladas, sauces and the shrimp wrapped in bacon is the best I have had in san Miguel. Sundays are particularly special with 2 for 1 margaritas all day long.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Balidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Don Felix En la Casa also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Tacos Don Felix En la Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing