We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place”
Review of Firenze

Firenze
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have been there very many times.

Still BYOW and NO corkage.

Great Tuscan preparations! From real Firenze, Italia owners and chefs.

Heading back to Tuscany in March - I still dream about Porcini mushrooms.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psmsmdagreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    49
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience at Cafe Firenze”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

What a delightful experience we had this evening at Cafe Firenze. It is a small restaurant with numerous tables outdoors but it was too chilly to eat outside so we were taken upstairs where there were about 5 or 6 tables for parties of two or four. We brought our own wine and were very much looking forward to our meal. Not realizing that the restaurant had been closed for the holiday and this was the first day of re-opening, we ordered a couple of dishes that were not available. Not to worry, the owner came to explain the situation to us and we asked him to suggest some alternatives which he did (splendidly). The clam chowder (yes, New England Clam Chowder in Mexico) was some of the best we have ever tasted. The salmon appetizer and the Cesar salad were wonderful and the black truffle risotto (substitute for the cod cakes which were not yet ready) was perfectly done (not heavy or mushy as some risotto can be).

We shared the lobster stuffed ravioli as our main dish and were incredibly pleased with the lightness and freshness of the taste as well as the amount of stuffing which was more than we expected. Dessert was a small and perfect chocolate cake which we shared and was the exact right amount of cake for the two of us. I know that a previous review complained about the size of the portions. I have to say that we found everything to be just the right amount. These are not Texas sized portions and if you are looking for quantity rather than quality, you should go elsewhere. But if you are looking for perfectly prepared, fresh, high quality food and attentive service, this is the place. Both the chef and the owner came to check on us and we are looking forward to going back again, and again. The icing on the cake, a 440 peso meal which seemed to us to be a real bargain.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c51574t
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Here alone for a week in SMA after family returned home. Looking for late lunch one day and thought I would try Cafe Firenze. Very glad I did. What a find and only a block from my house!
After being somewhat disappointed with the food at most of the 'well known' places, Cafe Firenze was a huge, welcome surprise, especially given the location. The early bird special was fantastic-yes the portions are somewhat small, but if you want to be a glutton, go to Domino's. I tried to get a steak at The Longhorn Thursday night but they were sold out, so I went back to CF and ordered Ossobuco in the upstairs dining room-glad I did. Together with Dila's and Venus, these are the best places I've eaten. Great food, very personable staff. You must try!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Killer value!”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Second trip here ... now have had llunch and dinner. Both were superb and good value. Mostly the servoce is what defines the restaurant. All of our experiences have featured attentive service. The chef/owner always comes o the ta\ble for a chat. We love this spot. It still feels undiscovered!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Muy Delicioso!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Wonderful Italian restaurant with great fish and homemade pasta.
You have to bring your own wine~ which is easy to do- however I missed having a wine glass. The grouper fish was terrific

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Malibu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firenze also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing