We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayan Baths

The Mayan Baths
Sausalito Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We received an invitation to a Valentines Day event at the Mayan Baths. We didn't know what to expect when driving down a bumpy dirt road in the middle of nowhere. When we arrived we found a high end, beautifully decorated spa with underground thermal tunnels we could swim through.
The owners spared no expense and the attention to detail was apparent. There was a beautiful infinity pool where we enjoyed the colorful sunset while sipping cocktails in the heated pool. Another tunnel led us to the grotto where a spout of thermally heated water provided a relaxing massage.
A buffet dinner was served including fresh, delicious cerviche .
We look forward to returning to this hidden paradise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank SrCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Winter decadence!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Gary's design of the Mayan Baths is fascinating--ask him about the solstice design--but the real joy is soaking for hours in deliciously hot water, especially during our chilly winter days. The all-stone underground interior feels like a private club--indeed, it can be rented as such as we've done for a friend's birthday last year--but check his schedule for the public open events. The place is all stone, candlelit, with great music piped in to a quality sound system... you'll love it! Take sandals, however... the path outside is not yet paved.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank GregRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“water barely body temperature, over-priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

An Absolutely Gorgeous romantic sexy setting - this must be what one pays for. The water is on the cool side - not at all relaxing. The extremely fresh (the fish are raised on the property) cerviche was the best I have ever had but not enough to go around and the rest of the food was hardly adequate for the number of people there and it was mostly cheap appetizers - maybe worth $100 pesos tops. Drinks are not included nor is the tip - and the drinks are not inexpensive. If you do not have a car - the taxi adds to the cost. When I was there the bathrooms were a good cold walk away and the changing room was not very private. Owner is quite pompous. Guess it was worth it to pay $475 pesos (almost $40 USD) one time just for the experience but I would not be taken in again unless he raised the water temperature and lowered the price by $225 pesos. They ask below about "recommended length of visit" - I would say that is difficult to answer - If the day is REALLY warm you might want to stay more than 3 hours as it would be a great place to cool off - if it is a cool day I would not stay more than an hour but then you would miss the expensive buffet. The "food" is included in the price but the drinks are not as I previously mentioned. Bathrooms are a good distance from the water. My friends had the same take on the place. I actually have been there twice - the first time was at an event where there was not an entrance fee and the food was catered and you were charged. That day was very warm outside but noticed the water was not all that warm - but let it go because the stone caves and infinity pool were so amazing. Then about a year later is when I went with friends and actually paid for the cool water and meager meal. A lesson learned.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank barbalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level Contributor
442 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“It is still a work in process--it's like a construction site”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to the Mayan Baths (Mayan Baths at Rancho Arcangel, Xote Road, La Cieneguita, San Miguel de Allende, Gto., office: 415-154-5002, English - Gary Richtmyer, Cell 415 103-0249, e-mail: Gary@TheMayanBaths.com, web: www.ranchoarcangel.com) for their September 14, 2012 pre-Independence Day celebrations. The location is lovely, the quiet only interrupted by barking dogs. The parts that Gary Richtmyer has completed, are appealing. Most of the area is a construction site, however. The area where you change is not finished. There is nowhere to store your clothes and the corridors from one place to another aren’t finished.

The pools underground are nice but are not hot enough for us. We could only stay in the warmest of the pools for 30 minutes. The outdoor pool was too cold to enjoy the sunset. We were told that dinner would be served at 8 p.m. and they put out cheeses, pepperoni and crudités at that time. It was 8:40 p.m. before the empanadas and other foods were put on the buffet tables. The area for dinner was not well-designed. There are uncomfortable seats surrounding a Mayan-looking stove that heats the area. People put their clothes and towels on those seats. We figured that 6 round tables could be put in that area, making eating more comfortable. Gary’s wife makes all of the food for the buffets. The buffet finally included tilapia that Gary raises; it was served in a good ceviche. There were 2 kinds of empanadas, potatoes in a stew, a chicken stir-fry with pineapple, devilled eggs and other finger foods. We didn’t think that the price (M$475 each) was appropriate for the offerings. But it was an experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende Guanajuato
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is one of the most unique things you have ever seen,any where in the world.FANTASTIC! An upscale, underground hot water grotto with a bar,buffet great room with hot water coming out of a dragons mouth. you get under the waterfall for an instant massage. There are side rooms for massage,a Gothic tunnel going to an outside pool for sunset viewing or star gazing at night .Located in the country side outside of San Miguel its a unique experience worth taking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayan Baths also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to The Mayan Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing