We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing for compliments”

Pescau del mar al bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Pescau del mar al bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: 415 152 8800
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fishing for compliments”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was beginning to think we were too far from the ocean to find great seafood in San Miguel. Thank goodness for Pescau. The dinning room has grand proportions with a huge bar running the full length. Good service and even better food. The menu has options for a budget meal or the full Monty it's up to you. Don't miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ztonyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    77
    50
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Level Contributor
441 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“The food was very good but the seating uncomfortable”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Pescau Del Mar, Jesus 21, San Miguel de Allende (SMA), Gto., tel. 415-152-8800, web: www.pescau.com. We looked at the name “pescau” and thought it would be a Portuguese restaurant. Evidently the word “pescau” is used in the southern part of Mexico and means fish. The style of cooking the fish at Pescau Del Mar is, confusingly, from north Mexico. The place is decorated well and the courtyard is lovely. Unfortunately the design of the tables and chairs is very uncomfortable. After a 2 hour lunch, Audre’s back was killing her. We had 2 dishes which we shared, both of which were original and very good. The first was a fish stew with cheese in a tomato-y base. For our main we had grilled octopus which was fresh and tender enough to be delicious. If it weren’t for the uncomfortable seating, we would return. Maybe you won’t be uncomfortable if you are younger and have a stronger back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Perhaps, it can be explained that it was just after thanksgiving but Pescau was sorely disappointing. Noisy, smokey and food was indelible. A curried shrimp and octopus dish lacked any significant curry flavor and was served over mushy rice bathed in an undescribable "cream"sauce. Appetizers and salads fared no better. Drinks were weak and unexciting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and smoky, with patronizing wait staff, oversalted, pretentious and mediocre-poor food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Greeted with clouds of smoke and hysterical party people, we almost left and I wish we had. I'd gone there a few years ago and found the food (marlin tacos) oversalted and dry, a chef with a poor sazon, wait staff who were pretentious but forgot basics like water. They redeemed themselves when I returned not long ago and had a very nice fresh shrimp cocktail, with a tomato juice base, plenty of lemon and avocado. So I thought I'd bring a birthday celebration there. Mistake. A ridiculous Caesar salad (a half a romaine with faux nouvelle cuisine style dribble of mustard and tasteless cheap "parmesan") and an ensalada de berros (watercress) with NO watercress! Gloppy dressing. Vietnamese rolls with similarly soggy tasteless lack of finesse. Bill ordered a shrimp curry that looked gooey white and inedible. My formerly reliable shrimp cocktail was destroyed with a pool of salsa maggi, rendering it so salty most of the flavor was destroyed. We had to ask for water after crappy margaritas and the birthday person wasn't given any water. The flan was okay, but not wonderful. Everything about the place screams, we're hip and have a schtick and a following with seafood crazy locals who simply don't know good food (and service) from bad. There are a half dozen taco stands with superior sazon and a far more satisfying experience. Another crappy overpriced pretentious place that might work for a beer and a shrimp cocktail if you ask them to leave the salsa Maggi out. As for their fiery hot sauce and other oversalted mayonaisse-y nightmare sauces, avoid like the plague. A basically weak drinks, bad food, high prices, and self-importance waste of time place that if you are young and don't know jack about food or are too drunk or clueless to care (and also don't mind throwing money away) will be your cup of tea. It wants to be hip, but it's just tiresome and a waste of time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank saraeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never accept a waiting list there”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited it in the past, and the food was ok, so decided to come back in a new visit where they offered us to be in a waiting list, expecting to be no longer than 30 minutes, and invited us to wait in a bar close where they will call us.... But after one and a half hour whith no body coming to say a word, and continues visits from our side to ask the situation, receiving the promise to call us in 30 minutes, we had to pay in the bar and go find an other place, hungry and angry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pescau del mar al bar also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Pescau del mar al bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing