We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We line in SMA..and this is a casual place with very good food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hecho en Mexico

Hecho en Mexico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We line in SMA..and this is a casual place with very good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've lived in SMA for 14 yrs.
Hecho en Mexico is dependable and consistent and has a great variety of foods. So you can be satisfied with a big choice of salads, a terrific hamburger, tilapia, coconut shrimp, etc etc. The only weak item ( and I've tried them all) is the tortilla soup.
Understand, this isn't haute cuisine, but my 5 star rating is based on what this restaurant is and what it aims to do - which is a high quality 'let's go out to dinner' restaurant...not a gourmet experience.
My husband and I go often!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mexico_lover121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    290
    113
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm a regular. I love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sometimes I just gotta have their soul-satisfying chicken soup with vegetables. Other times I'm craving the Thai-Mex salad which is always wonderful....beautifully grilled chicken on top of a huge fresh salad of romaine, corn, carrots, jicama, tomatoes and a peanutty dressing to die for. The appetizer quesadilla is yummy and enough for a lunch all by itself. In my opinion, the red salsa that comes with the chips is the very best salsa in town. The service is the friendliest, the prices are low, the atmosphere is charming, relaxed, and fun. Hecho is not pretentious or stuffy. Just consistently welcoming and tasty. Hecho never fails me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littledawg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic, interesting and delicious...best in SMA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

After 25 or so meals here during my 7 visits to SMA, Hecho is still the place I recommend to anyone visiting SMA. Consistent quality, great flavors, authentic tastes, with a few nods to Gringo's who want something more familiar. Lovely courtyard with helpful service, great music, and a wonderful place to meet friends or hang out over a long meal. There are plenty of trendy, overpriced and overhyped eating places in town, and they disappear pretty fast, but I feel like I can always count on returning to Hecho with family and friends for a great meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ethan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hecho Mexico, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always good, superb caring and smiling service. Good food, good ambiance. Be careful with the hot peppers of soap azteca.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Éliane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Coconut Shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were in the mood for something other than Mexican food, and there were lots of choices here. The setting was lovely, and the service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LillaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hecho en Mexico also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Hecho en Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing