We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, good food, great atmosphere”
Review of Hecho en Mexico

Hecho en Mexico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tyler, Texas, United States
1 review
“Good service, good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I started with the Sopa de Tortilla which was fabulous. Then the Enchiladas con Salsa Poblana, with creamed spinach and onion rings. After one enchilada, I was full and asked to have the rest packed up to go. They did so, happily. The service was extremely attentive, and the prices were very fair.
It's one of the "must try while you're in San Miguel" restaurants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    310
    116
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
276 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“ok basic food but kind of weird sometimes”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

pretty good place but the staff can be a little weird sometimes which makes it uncomfortable. The manager is a bit of an odd ball.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, average service, good food.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The restaurant is set in an open courtyard (with a ceiling which can be closed when necessary), with a wonderful cacti garden and stone walls. Service was average, food was good, but I think most patrons come for the beautiful decor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tayana42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
206 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A nice dinner out”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

When the waitress asked me if I wanted my margarita on the rocks or frozen, I knew that I was in a place used to American patrons. Hecho en Mexico definitely caters to the gringo population, but that should not deter anyone. In fact, the (local ?) gringos were fascinating to watch. In addition to some great food, the people watching at Hecho en Mexico was fantastic. One party in particular was a little loud (they might have been reuniting with old friends), but they were colorfully and stylishly dressed and reminded me of people I've only seen at art shows in Manhattan. I enjoyed their presence.

I also enjoyed the food. Very good chips and salsa, chicken enchiladas, and margaritas. My spouse said that his steak was one of the best that he had ever eaten. Many menu items were not strictly speaking Mexican. The chocolate brownie and ice cream dessert is enough for four people, but it's so delectable that you might want to eat it all by yourself. We compromised and shared it among three people.

On the night we visited two excellent musicians played. An especially talented violinist and a guitarist. They added wonderful ambiance and made our evening out very special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Citizen_of_Amherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Mexican night out”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A large restaurant with live music and Mexican comfort food. If you want Mexican food the way Mexicans like it go to a taco stand because this is nice Mexican food more like we get at home.
Very reasonably priced and a good night out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ztonyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hecho en Mexico also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Hecho en Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing