We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Owners Were Away, but....”
Review of OKO Noodle Bar

OKO Noodle Bar
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Asian Fusion Noodle and Cocktail Bar. Oko Noodle Bar is located in Plaza Alhondiga between Mega and Telcel.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Owners Were Away, but....”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Went Wednesday for my first visit, my lady's second, and nearly wonderful.

The seared Ahi tuna tempura appetizer was among the best either have ever tasted - nearly as good as very fresh Iranian Beluga caviar (if I might make that foolish comparison?)

The coconut shrimp was a bit overcooked and tough, but OK.

Ask for steamed dumplings. The fried pot stickers are very good, and the sauces are all pretty stunning.

We don't do silly drinks, but the house red wine was fine.

Thai yellow curry chicken was good, but we both do better.

I would stick to the appetizers on visit # 1, and come back to explore all - that's our plan for the next few weeks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psmsmdagreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise indeed”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Totally unexpected. Nice to combine when you visit Mega and its location would be, perhaps, the only problem because is "far" from downtown. Yet, that effort will be totally rewarded. The food is excellent and the service is prompt. Every dish was delicious and nicely presented. Prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is also nice.

PELUCHE

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PELUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, Different, Amazing Drinks”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Wonderful restaurant that brings something new to San Miguel. One of the things I love about San Miguel is the fact that there is so much variety in a small Mexican town. Oko makes a big contribution in this department. Their Asian-Fusion menu is tasty but not over-priced and their mixed drink menu is in my opinion one of the best in San Miguel. If you don't go for the food, go for the drinks. Also keep your eye out for events they hold as they tend to be well attended by San Miguel Locals.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“If you are dying for Vietnamese food in San Miguel”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

OUtside of Centro by Mega- we had Pho and it was fine but not great

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liketotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What's not to like....”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great Asian fusion menu, wonderful staff and fantastic entertainment.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank etpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OKO Noodle Bar also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to OKO Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing