We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ~ a beautiful experience ~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
“Awesome ~ a beautiful experience ~”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is our second visit, but the owners, Dan and Gabriella, really made us feel like we were coming home. In the mornings you wake up to the church bells and roosters in the distance, hear the ‘abuela’ preparing bacon in the kitchen…you feel like this is the Mexican home you always dreamed of.

The rooms are all very beautiful, private and distinctive. The views of San Miguel are spectacular from the sunset terrace. The gardens, fountains and koi ponds below are a great place to relax after a day at the nearby market or an adventure in town. Casa Puesta del Sol is a very close walk to the ‘jardin,’ but it’s also a quiet retreat from the bustle of San Miguel. Make sure to ask Dan and Gabriella for recommendations. Follow their advice and you will enjoy the best that San Miguel has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdalvarado2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    21
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
92
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

What a gem.

We stayed 3 days in SMA, I wished we had more time, just for the pleasure to stay longer at this B&B. Rooms are superb (they are exactly like advertised in their website). We chose the "Cupid", but other rooms are nice too. The garden is an oasis of green, with ponds and fishes.
Gabriela is a wonderful host; attentive and discreet. As soon as I arrived, I felt comfortable. There is a very good vibe at this place.

Hotels can be quite expensive in San Miguel and this one is no exception. During low season, you can get a discount of at least 15% (but then need to pay cash).
I paid my room US$ 115, breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strawberita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

So hospitable. The garden was beautiful. Better than the hilton. Much more personal, and friendly. After being out on the town it was comforting to have a place like this to come back to.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Friendly people, Great Bar at 5:00 pm...Great view. Very close to middle of town and the Jardin.....Comfortable rooms...great food. Like I said "I'll Be Back, Again and Again"

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenniePadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Our Stay at Casa Puesta Del Sol was one of the most memorable vacations of our lives so far. Our room was beautiful, service outstandoing, hosts very friendly and accomodating. We were treated like family. The beautiful, historic downtown San Miguel de Allende is just a short walk away, (five minutes) and everytihng one would enjoy doing is conveniently located. There was no need for a car. We will be going back to Casa Puesta Del Sol again before the year is up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaPadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Casa Puesta del Sol sits high above the town of San Miguel de Allende. The views are stupendous and the ambiance creates warmth and romance. Our room's decoration reflected traditional Mexican design. There was storage/hanging space, a firm mattress, plush towels, and a bathroom with a with a tub deep enough for a shoulder high soak. An elaborate breakfast, complete with freshly squeezed orange juice starts you off in the morning. Dan and Gabriella open their hearts and home to their guests. You can cook a meal in the kitchen, sit on the terrace sipping tequila while watching the sun set, or mingle with guests from all over the world. You can even order in! Jose, Dan, or Gabriella are happy to assist with your needs whether it be calling a taxi, arranging tours, booking a massage, recommending restaurants or special out of the way places. In a town filled with a variety of accommodations, Casa Puesta del Sol is first rate, first class, and absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancha2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Thanks to Gabriella and Dan for a very personalized and easy flowing stay at Casa Puesta del Sol. At cocktail hour we invited a family member to join us and the hosts made it a warm and inviting evening. The rooms are always clean and inviting, the location and views of San Miguel de Allende are outstanding. Can't beat it!! AND the breakfast is always cooked to your liking. Most certainly would stay again as we always feel "at home". This is our 2nd stay and will not be the last.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan33002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 136 in San Miguel de Allende
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Don Pascual
Casa Don Pascual
#21 of 136 in San Miguel de Allende
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 136 in San Miguel de Allende
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Mia Suites Apartments
Casa Mia Suites Apartments
#3 of 74 in San Miguel de Allende
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Puesta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Puesta Del Sol

Property: Casa Puesta Del Sol
Address: Calle Fuentes # 12 | Col Arcos de San Miguel, San Miguel de Allende 37740, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Puesta Del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Puesta del Sol, an intimate San Miguel de Allende B&B experience. This unique hideaway, nestled on a hillside overlooking Mexico's colonial jewel, San Miguel, offers all the modern amenities with old world charm. Whether you're watching a spectacular sunset over coctails on the Sunset Terrace or relaxing and reading in the luscious gardens, you'll find it hard to leave the hospitality and romance of Casa Puesta del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Puesta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing