We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in San Miguel de Allende”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a fabulous vacation in San Miguel de Allende and especially enjoyed our lovely retreat at the Casa Puesta del Sol. The owners, Daniel and Gabriela, treated us like their invited guests and provided us not only with a beautiful room with a spectacular view, but also a delicious made to order breakfast every morning, great sight seeing advice, the best frozen Margarita ever (thanks to Gabriella!), and so much fun conversation!
Everything was just perfect. Muchas Gracias to Daniel, Gabriela, and Manuel. Esperamos con interés el día en que pueda regresar a su casa - el paraíso!
Margaret and Brad

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpigott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 168 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

San Miguel de Allende is already a charming town but staying at
Case Puesta Del Sol just makes the whole visit to this area even more
special. Daniel and Gabriela have created a beautiful hilltop B&B with a
gorgeous view, magical grounds, great breakfasts, wonderful staff - you
will feel right at home. They go out of their way to make sure your visit
is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

If I could describe this bed-and-breakfast inn in a single word, I would say: enchanted. I had nurtured many hopeful daydreams before my first visit to Mexico, but my imagination did not prepare me for the beauty of this small hotel on a hilltop overlooking the old town of San Miguel de Allende. The traditional architecture and the surrounding private gardens, pond, verandahs and courtyards are a spark to the spirit. Clearly the owners and staff have an artistic sensibility. Their good taste is reflected in the authentic design of the home ~ and it does feel like a large and welcoming home ~ decorated with original art, sculpture, quality furniture, exquisite tile work and carefully tended gardens. The deep, brilliant colours of Mexico are everywhere here: in the flowers, shade trees and plants, in the visual art, on every wall in the building. Imagine watching a deep, orange sunset -- with margarita in hand -- from a verandah overlooking an exquisite garden and the valley below it. This was a restful place above the crowded streets of the town, a haven of quiet inside a walled tropical green space. I watched hummingbirds in the morning. Our room was large and open with a very comfortable king-sized bed, top quality bed linens and towels, a desk and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was also large with a beautiful tiled shower, all very clean. There were many private 'sitting places' throughout the large building and gardens, and a well-stocked library in one corner. Our friendly and welcoming hosts served us margaritas on the patio in the courtyard in the late afternoon, and a large and delicious breakfast in the morning with fresh ingredients and lots of choice. This hotel would be a good choice for couples who ache for a romantic getaway from a humdrum routine, but families would be comfortable here too. Children would love the pond full of large goldfish and a family of turtles. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Any northerner weary of grey winter skies, bitter winds and snowstorms should come here for a tonic of morning sunlight, sunsets and five-star accommodation. Pure comfort. Peaceful relaxed atmosphere. I will be back as soon as I can manage another visit to Mexico. Muchas gracias to my hosts from a grateful Canadian.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but couples should treat themselves to the romantic honeymoon suite whether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdmontonWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was my first time visiting this part of Mexico. San Miguel de Allende is a beautiful town, and our visit there was made even more magical because we stayed overnight at Casa Puesta del Sol, a charming and elegant bed and breakfast overlooking the town. We had two rooms on the main floor, both of which were beautifully decorated, with fine bed linen on comfortable beds, and thick bath towels. Upon our arrival, we sat outside on a lovely terrace by the pond, and Jose Manuel brought us drinks as we enjoyed the lush, well-maintained grounds. We walked into town for dinner, and returned by taxi. As others have mentioned, this is the best way to get back up the hill.

As we were preparing for bed, we heard fireworks outside, and stood on the balcony to watch the show from our high vantage point. We felt like the fireworks were being set off just for us! We found out that this is a relatively common occurrence in San Miguel, as they are often used to celebrate many different kinds of ceremonies and occasions.

A freshly prepared breakfast is served in the beautifully appointed dining room, where one can enjoy a variety of art and crafts that decorate the walls. In fact the whole home is like an art gallery, with original sculptures, paintings and jewelry, some of which is offered for sale.

I met our gracious hostess Gabriela after breakfast, who was charming, warm and welcoming to us. We absolutely plan to return, hopefully for a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Casa Puesta del Sol was a wonderful place for my wife and I to base ourselves at the start of our time in San Miguel. High on top of a hill, you can see all of San Miguel below you- and it looks amazing! Our host Gabriela was most kind and helpful. Her helper Manuel was just fine. Our room and breakfast, excelente! No problem at all that this hotel is up on the hill. In fact, it's an advantage- the bells that ring don't sound loud, don't wake you, up there. We just walked into town and took taxis back up the hill ($3).

I had been hoping my wife would want to stay for a month in San Miguel (it was here or Florida!) and thanks to nice experience we had at this B&B, she happily agreed. Gabriela helped by introducing us to a realtor who showed us several places to rent for a month. She also gave us lots of advice on what areas we might like and helped with phone calls, and with notifying us as realtors came by to show us places. Within a day we found a lovely and wonderful house where we have been happily staying for two weeks so far.

We just loved Gabriela and her B&B, and I bet you will too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockmktgenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Casa Puesta del Sol

Our group of four just returned from a week at Casa Puesta del Sol in San Miguel de Allende. Our experience at this beautiful bed & breakfast could not have been better. It is located on a high hill overlooking the town square with a panoramic view of the entire valley. The town was a 15 minute walk downhill on charming cobblestone streets. For the return back to the B&B, we frequently took a taxi up the hill. Taxis were abundant and their cost was reasonable.
The B&B has several levels: the lower level has fish ponds with fountains and benches to watch the fish and turtles swim about. The middle level has the bedrooms, living room, and dining area for guests. The upper level is where the host and owners, Dan and Gabriela Scher, live. There is also a lovely balcony to sit and relax, have cocktails and watch the sun set over San Miguel.
Our accommodations were very comfortable complete with plush linens and towels. The fresh vase of flowers in each room was a lovely touch. Everything was kept very clean with daily maid service. There is even a pitcher of purified water for guests.
There were abundant choices for each day’s full, made-to-order breakfast. Even after one week, we were not tired of the variety of breakfast options. One day, one member of our group received an item not on the menu, just for the asking.
Dan was away during the week we were there, but co-owner, Gabriela could not have been more personable, helpful, accommodating and generous, frequently asking what else she could do to please us. She was a great resource for whatever we wanted to see or do in San Miguel. She truly embodied “mi casa es su casa.”
It would be hard to find another B&B of this caliber at such a reasonable price. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InlawstravelTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with the property, the view, the staff and the hosts. First of all, we had the place to ourselves and the property was in tip top shape. Mucho gusto. The hosts picked up on our love of local food and took us to a couple of local treats....note that they didn't just point us to them, they took us with them. Lamb barbacoa. 'Nuf said. They also arranged our return to the airport which saved us hours and many pesos. Beautiful short run a los Jardines. The walk uphill from the square to the casa may sway some but for us it was a bonus. Taxi option is about $3. No doubt we'll be back.

Room Tip: Stunning view from all spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanS33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
1 mi away
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
#7 of 154 in San Miguel de Allende
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 154 in San Miguel de Allende
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Don Pascual
Casa Don Pascual
#23 of 154 in San Miguel de Allende
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Carmen
Casa Carmen
#26 of 154 in San Miguel de Allende
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casaluna Hotel Boutique
Casaluna Hotel Boutique
#10 of 154 in San Miguel de Allende
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Puesta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Puesta Del Sol

Address: Calle Fuentes # 12 | Col Arcos de San Miguel, San Miguel de Allende 37740, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $97 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Puesta Del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Puesta del Sol, an intimate San Miguel de Allende B&B experience. This unique hideaway, nestled on a hillside overlooking Mexico's colonial jewel, San Miguel, offers all the modern amenities with old world charm. Whether you're watching a spectacular sunset over coctails on the Sunset Terrace or relaxing and reading in the luscious gardens, you'll find it hard to leave the hospitality and romance of Casa Puesta del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Puesta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing