We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Rama

Cafe Rama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast, lunch and Dinner Open Tusday to Sunday from 8 am to Midnight CLOSE MONDAYS For the Moment we do not take Reservations
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a disappointment...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here many times since Cafe Rama opened in San Miguel de Allende.

Management, ownership and chef have changed... Food quality and service have been consistently decreased ever since.

This restaurant has passed it's prime.

Helpful?
4 Thank FoodLover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Owner at Cafe Rama, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you feel that Rama has declined…but I assure you it has nothing to do with the ownership and management. I started Rama and have been the sole owner since the beginning. If you heard differently - it is because of misrepresentation & mismanagement of authority.

Rama now employs 35 local people - all on proper government payroll. Rama has been getting some great reviews too ….I suppose we all have good and bad days. All I can ask, is that you don't give up on us. We are a big supporter of the community with our employees and the locally grown produce that we use. If you have a bad meal - please let us know right then and there and we will do our best to fix it for you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    140
    57
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to have a nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Café Ramas decoration is amazing; it has a mixture of modern hip décor with colonial Mexican arquitecture, food is pretty good but nothing special, prices are a bit high considering food quality but it get compensated with the great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“A Must while in San Miguel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Cafe Rama is a truly unique restaurant and one you do not want to miss when in San Miguel!
The owners have created an eclectic, cool vibe which has made Rama a visual delight as well as an edible one!
I went for breakfast and loved it so much I returned for dinner several times. I tried several dishes and every time the food was delicious and the service outstanding.
Your eyes will never be bored whether gazing upon one of the paintings by owner Jaime, a luchador lampshade, a gorgeous chandelier, or some crazy Mexican artifact!
Don't forget to check out the jewelry store in the corner with owner Finn's stylish designs!
Can't wait to go back on my next visit to San Miguel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for the view stay for the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The rooftop bar in this restaurant has a view to die for for very romantic as the sun is setting. Very nice bar great staff and the food is incredible. Enjoy !!!

Helpful?
1 Thank DLAndrews7274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
352 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise in San Miguel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Cafe Rama is located near the Rosewood Hotel and they couldn't be more different. From the moment you step inside it's a visual feast: eclectic and hip, colorful and interesting everywhere you look. The food is excellent, too. I had fish & chips for lunch (I know, it sounds strange for Mexico) and they were delicious, although the 'chips' were housemade potato chips. The fish was lightly battered and not greasy and served with delicious housemade tartar sauce. I've heard they also have wonderful desserts. There's a lovely jewelry shop to browse as an added bonus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rama also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Cafe Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing