We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cayote Canyon Adventure Tour to Canada de la Virgen Pyramid”

Canada de la Virgen
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Canada de la Virgen Archaeological Site Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cayote Canyon Adventure Tour to Canada de la Virgen Pyramid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We attended the informative tour given by Professor Albert Coffee. We loved the whole day! Albert was fun as well as informative! We booked him through Coyote Canyon Adventures. After the pyramid tour we ate lunch at the ranch and the rode horses through one of the most breath taking canyons I have ever seen. We has a fantastic time with Rodrigo and the other cowboys! The team stayed right with us and made sure that everyone was having a great time. Many of us don't ride often and weren't sure how we would feel riding down into the Canyon. The cowboys were there to make our experience 100% great. I felt very comfortable with my horse. The trip was a blast!! I would go back tomorrow!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    67
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
211 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort to see a pyramid away from the crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This ruina ranks high in my books after seeing many of the other ruinas in Mexico. Not as big as Teotihuacan but you are not overwhelmed with crowds of tourists or vendadores selling trinkets.Lots of tours available but you can get out there by taking a bus from SMA to Guanajuato and ask to get off at the entrance which is on the highway. From there, you ride in 9 km by bus along with a guide. Their presentation may not be as good as some of the private guides from town but it is included in the entrance price. This is a good budget option to see this powerful site well away from it all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kikoenmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting archaeological site, exceptional guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I and two friends spent a very enjoyable day at this site. We feel very fortunate to have had Albert Coffee as our guide. We also had a very good young local guide accompany us and point out plants used for medicinal purposes. This pyramid complex is only about 25 kilometers from San Miguel de Allende and has only been open to the public for a year. Coffee is a trained archaeologist with a passion for learning and sharing his knowledge with others.Touring the site involves a walk of about 1 1/2 kilometers on a slight uphill grade with a fairly rough cobblestone surface and no shade. There was a covered area with benches about halfway to the site. We spent at least two hours exploring the site itself, some of the time walking on level ground but we also walked to the top of the pyramid.There is limited shade and a sun hat and sun block are advised.After touring the site we were taken to a small ranch nearby for a really good lunch made with fresh, local, mostly organic ingredients. Overall, it was a very interesting day and a highlight of our time in San Miguel. The charge for the tour was $50 US, which we felt was good value for the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Taku2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pre-Colombian site within easy reach of San Miguel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are regular tours but we opted for a private trip for the 4 of us with an bi-lingual guide. Buses and cars must be parked at a collection point. Then visitors are taken by bus for a short drive and then must walk quite a long way into the site, accompanied by an official guide. There are good bi-lingual printed signs at the various stopping points. We were not allowed to start our walk back to the site bus until the group of young students included in the same group were ready to leave.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GardenPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went to visit this site and loved it. We love history. We arrived at a visitor center that is not totally completed. By that I mean that the exhibitions aren't done. There are bathrooms and guides there when you arrive. Next you take a nice van/bus to a nearby drop off location. I should say that the day we were there some people turned back because the walk was too much for them. At the beginning you follow a road that is easy to walk but it is uphill. When you leave the road you are walking up to the site the same way the ancestors did! The pyramids aren't that tall but since I am not very good with heights, I did feel a bit of that dizzy feeling. I just held on to the sides and went right up. At the top there is a wonderful story so it is worth it.

All in all this is a great site to visit if you are in San Miguel and you don't have to go to Mexico City to see a pyramid.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada de la Virgen also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Canada de la Virgen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing