We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Colombian site within easy reach of San Miguel”

Canada de la Virgen
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Canada de la Virgen Archaeological Site Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pre-Colombian site within easy reach of San Miguel”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are regular tours but we opted for a private trip for the 4 of us with an bi-lingual guide. Buses and cars must be parked at a collection point. Then visitors are taken by bus for a short drive and then must walk quite a long way into the site, accompanied by an official guide. There are good bi-lingual printed signs at the various stopping points. We were not allowed to start our walk back to the site bus until the group of young students included in the same group were ready to leave.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GardenPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    67
    27
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This was great!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We went to visit this site and loved it. We love history. We arrived at a visitor center that is not totally completed. By that I mean that the exhibitions aren't done. There are bathrooms and guides there when you arrive. Next you take a nice van/bus to a nearby drop off location. I should say that the day we were there some people turned back because the walk was too much for them. At the beginning you follow a road that is easy to walk but it is uphill. When you leave the road you are walking up to the site the same way the ancestors did! The pyramids aren't that tall but since I am not very good with heights, I did feel a bit of that dizzy feeling. I just held on to the sides and went right up. At the top there is a wonderful story so it is worth it.

All in all this is a great site to visit if you are in San Miguel and you don't have to go to Mexico City to see a pyramid.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was fortunate to have Albert Coffey as my tour guide for this pyramid. His knowledge and passion for the area made the mysterious structure even more interesting. Highly recommended--but be aware that the tour does involve walking and climbing some steep steps. It's worth it! The lunch provided by a local ranch family was delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ucluelet
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not far from town. Very informative in regards to history, architecture and the native folklore. Highly recommend you go with Albert Coffee. Five stars.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardUcluelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Archaelogical zone newly opened to public”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Transport is provided but the final climb is steep. The site is worth a visit and is the closest site to San Miguel de Allende.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank betwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada de la Virgen also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Canada de la Virgen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing