We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada(San Miguel de Allende)
$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Matilda(San Miguel de Allende)
$517
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda El Santuario(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$184
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casaluna Hotel Boutique(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$63
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Carmen(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa Mia Suites Apartments(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
La Morada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$163
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Primavera(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$76
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mirasol Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende(San Miguel de Allende)
$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
133
71
30
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
71
30
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan miguelhot waterquiet streetsuitesmacharm
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 265 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2006

I had always wanted to visit San Miguel de Allende so when I came across the auction on LuxuryLink.com, I jumped on it. Our package included a weekday stay at the Casa Quetzal, transfers to and from Leon Airport, breakfast everyday and one dinner with live Mariachis music. The breakfasts were very generous, the hotel provided drinking water free and the room had a minibar. We had a private patio with our own hot tub. The hotel has another larger hot tub for all the guests on the premises. The staff were smiling helpful people who made you feel very welcome.
The owner/manager is an artist and throughout the hotel there are her original paintings complimenting the beautiful decor of the rooms. Each room is unique exhibiting the colorful palette of Central Mexico. My friend and I went there to paint, and paint we did. Each day we went to our rooftop patio or to one of the lovely locations in and around San Miguel. It was one of the most refreshing vacations I have had in years due to the creative atmosphere in the Casa Quetzal and the town itself. I most certainly hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank redintherainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Casa Quetzal was the perfect place for a romantic long weekend surprise getaway!

great rooms and everything in perfect walking distance!

clean and quiet for resting ...but also very centrally located in the city.

Pretty, spacious and tasteful rooms including a common terrace hot tub with a charming garden....lovely breakfast on the terrace every morning!

The owner is a Vermont artist, Cynthia, with great taste and very happy to
make sure everything is right! she is on the property daily. and is always interested to know how your day was!

We had a wonderful time and will certainly send friends back...and go back ourselves soon!

The staff, particularly Javiar and Manuelo were always cheerful, helpful and very thorough in offering advice, directions and great insider shopping tips! They were full of ideas of where to find pottery and original art at its source!

Other hotels in the town may offer slightly lower prices but beware as they may be on noisy streets, not clean, or small rooms.

this was a great value for the price....plus they have a new casita location just blocks away we may try next time as well.

we just loved San Miguel and Casa Quetzal!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank travelerjournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Casa Quetzal. My husband and I stayed in the Diego Suite and my 20's something daughter stayed in Casita Quetzal. We were all charmed.

Javier and Manolo, who staff the front desk and really cater to your needs, are just plain stars when it comes to service and hospitality. The owner Cynthia Price is frequently on the property and is sufficiently hands on to run a tight ship.

So what is there to like? Well, pretty much everything. The ambiance is colorful, serene, quaint, picturesque. The beds are terrific. Linens are high end; amenities are lovely Mexican made soap, shampoo and conditioner. The room was so clean that I went bare footed most of the time. The bathroom could have come out of a designer magazine featuring Mexican tile work. The lighting was bright and stylish.

The made-to-order breakfast in Casa Quetzal, which is included in the room price, is frankly delicious. It is both high quality and well prepared - fresh squeezed orange juice, home made french toast with cinnamon, omelets, amazing Mexican hot chocolate, coffee, etc. Julia, who served our breakfast each morning, whistled a happy little song (no kidding!) as she walked up to the terrace with our breakfast tray.

Casa Quetzal is pure charm and beauty. We are hooked and are planning another visit at Christmas.

8  Thank LizaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We picked the Casa Quetzal (Quetzal is a plumed bird) mainly out of Fodor’s, but also did a fair amount of other research. We debated about choosing the Sierra Nevada, but the latter cost significantly more per night and did not offer breakfast. While we were in San Miguel, we popped into Sierra Nevada (just down the street) and asked to see a room. It was much more “Gringoed up”, more sterile, smaller, but a very fancy bathroom. It reminded me of some professional decorator from Manhattan giving you “their interpretation” of what Mexico might be like, though they had never been there. This was only a random look, to be fair, and certainly not anything to really judge objectively about the Sierra Nevada, which is a gorgeous place. It has several properties around SM, all beautiful. The Sierra Nevada has changed owners twice recently, and has been bought again by a conglomerate.

Now on to the Casa Quetzal… NOT owned by a conglomerate---owned by a real person you see and talk to, who has a vested interest in the success of this one hotel. We stayed in the Frida Suite, the second most expensive. Charming, and pretty-much as the web site says. They have free wireless internet service, but the walls are so thick it’s hard to pick up in the room. We used our laptop on the terrace with no problem.

Breakfast was included, and it is a real breakfast—eggs, bacon, cereal, pancakes, toast, fresh squeezed OJ, great fruit plate--Whatever you ask for when you fill out the form the night before. The cook, Sylvia, spoke little or no English. She served the breakfast up on our private terrace. When we heard the noise of the table leg moving up above on the terrace, we knew it was time to eat. It was on time, as we requested the night before. Even though a 10% gratuity was added at the end, I left Sylvia a little extra when I had the right bills, thinking (mistakenly ??) that we were getting more food and more service than we should’ve. Somebody wrote that the food was “amateurish” and that their coffee was not hot enough- well I guess you can’t please everyone, but our experience was not like that. Who would not like a delicious breakfast served on your private rooftop courtyard in the warm morning sun, with a beautiful view of the Centro? With coffee cup in hand, you lean over the wall, to see the street scene below as the town is coming to life.

About mid-week we came back to the room and found that our dirty clothes had been washed and were neatly and crisply folded and laid on the bed. This was a little bit of a surprise, because I had not filled out the form to request it. (maybe my little gratuities were working ??). Actually, she did a great job. There were no extra “laundry charges” on the bill. I could have brought a lot less clothing!! You might not want this if you had some super-delicate high-end skivvies, but we had no problem.

Our daughter joined us mid-week from San Francisco. The extra-person fee was 26 USD per night including breakfast—unbelievably good deal.
The main drew of the hotel is the people there- - -Cynthia (owner), Manolo, Javier, and others were just superb, endearing, and helpful. Example: we wanted to go to the Hot Springs (La Gruta) to swim. It is 5-10 miles out of town. Javier explained how it worked, and what to expect. We agreed on about how long we would want to be there. The water is quite hot and you can be a boiled like a lobster if you stay too long—he said about 2 hours and that would probably be enough. He called a taxi. He walks out to the street, jabbers in Spanish to the driver, agreeing on where, how much, etc., and when the driver should return to pick us up after swimming. Then he says – oh, they don’t furnish towels there- gets us fresh towels. It worked like clockwork. We would have worried and had a lot more hassle-factor without this care and service.

I would return here is a heartbeat. We loved everything about our experience. It is so nice to have the owner of a full-service hotel to call you by name, and say, “ I’m leaving for the night—this is so-and-so who will be here—is there anything you need?”

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Andywestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Flemington, New Jersey
16
Reviewed June 2, 2006

Casa Quetzal is an oasis for relaxing. The staff will pamper you.The terrace views will astound you and San Miquel will draw you in. Casa Quetzal is barely a 7 minute stroll down cobble stone streets, from "The Jardin", the heart of San Miguel. The staff was always ther for us. We loved that they were from the San Miguel area and new the best restaurants and also where the locals go to play and eat. Consider them you personal concierge. They arranged day trips to nearby Historic towns and to one of our personal favorites" La Gruta' (a natural hot spring). Every morning breakfast was delivered to our terrace. Not those cheapy contental breakfast either, We were invited to see other suites that were unoccupied. Each one is unique. Works of art by the owner, Cyntthia Price, are spread throughout the grounds. There is a Hot Tub tucked away in a corner under the stars and flowering plants. We loved Casa Quetzal and San Miguel. Nothing bad to say. It was all good. I strongly reccommend a vacation there. The area is full of history. Churches dating back to 1500's. It is amazing that you can just walk in. Check out where Diego Rivera lived. We stayed 1 week, but we will return.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews