We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$267
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Rosada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada(San Miguel de Allende)
$322
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hacienda El Santuario(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$184
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Matilda(San Miguel de Allende)
$367
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Mia Suites Apartments(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
La Morada Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$176
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Primavera(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$112
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casaluna Hotel Boutique(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende(San Miguel de Allende)
$444
$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $469/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
133
71
30
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
71
30
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan miguelhot waterquiet streetsuitesmacharm
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 265 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good location and unusual building in a garden setting, the rooms are all different. With an on-site owner or good manager this could be lovely but as it is it doesn’t quite hit the mark:

Despite there being a couple of days of cold wet weather there was no more than sheet and a cover on the bed – it took a bit of looking to find a blanket but even that wasn’t enough to be warm enough to sleep properly. In any good hotel the housekeeping would have come round to put the blankets earlier in the day.

There wasn’t a heater in the bedroom. There was a gas fire in the neighbouring living room but it had taken a lot of effort to get someone to light it – someone came but didn’t know where to begin - and there were neither instructions nor anything to use to light the gas, so having it lit in the middle of the night was not really an option.

Reception staff were not good – I got the internet code but when I asked for help lighting the fire I was repeatedly told to use the code! In general they seemed clueless and let the place down.

Room was not particularly well decorated and while good in theory to have a living room, it was bare and uncomfortable and not a pleasant place to sit. The bathroom too was not great.

No restaurant in the hotel – a rate including breakfast was offered for MXP300 more – that is a lot for breakfast in Mexico, it would be better to pay the restaurant yourself (and probably pay less) and have the option to try out somewhere else.

In conclusion, it was ok but too many little problems to recommend it.

Room Tip: If it's cold and wet, make sure there are blankets and/or a heater
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments we take them very seriously and they help us improve our hotel
We will review the gas fire systems with our staff to improve in the areas you mentioned.
Thank you!
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A number of mixups affected the quality of my stay. Location is great, employees tried to sort all the confusion. However, my room had poor ventilation and was too hot. The several day security camera installation in the patio outside my room created noise and lack of serenity. It's a lovely place but seemed to need a little closer attention to customer comfort

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments!
We are sorry for the inconvenience of the security cameras but we where improving our system in order to offer more safety to our guests
we appreciate and take seriously your comments on customer comfort

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really liked the hotel, within walking distance of the town centre. Staff was very helpful and willing to make the stay more enjoyable.
We went for a master suite, we didn't get a room with all of the amenities that were advertised. There was no bathtub in the room.
Also, it was kind of noisy when other guests came in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinosgarcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not knowing what to expect other than what I had read. I chose Casa Quetzal because the price was perfect. When we arrived everything was taken care of and we received our key. The details are what count and in this case I had not packed hair gel. Simple right? I went to the front desk and the receptionist was kind enough to fill a little pouch with her own since the hotel did not have any. She even made it a point to bring it up with the owners and they plan on having some available for guests in the future. WOW!!

Great place!!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed so much Casa Quetzal!
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in our hotel soon!

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here at the end of June for a couple of nights. Our overall experience was ok, although not outstanding. If you consider value/money paid vs other hotels in Mexico you might feel its not worth it, hwoever you must consider that all hotels in the area must be boutique hotels so they will be a bit expensive. The place is very well located, easy walking distance from main street. Hotel staff are nice, although limited (it seemed only 2 people where on call at all times or at least visible). Their valet service is quite convenient as you do not have to worry about parking or anything, we just left our car upon arrival and forgot about it.

I do not know if all rates include breakfast but if yours does, the restaurant "El Correo" where breakfast is provided is only <10 minutes walking distiance and the food is great.

What I did not like was that our room did not have A/C and only had a VERY Noisy A/C kind of substitute mobile apparatus on the floor. If you wanted to sleep, you had to turn it off, but if the door was closed, you woke up because of the heat. What we had to do was open the door at night and sleep like if we were in a cabin on a lake in 1960. That was fine until the second night of our stay where there was a group that arrived for a wedding on Saturday and on Friday decided to go out for drinks and come back at 3am yelling, screaming, going back and forth between rooms looking for God knows what.

So....my recommendation is to get a room with A/C, we saw a couple of rooms that had A/C so definitely ask for those when booking the hotel.

Other than that it was a great stay, the valet boy was very helpful and when my wife and I where chilling after a long day of walking he went to the store for us to get us a couple of cold cokes which was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Get one with A/C.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santiagoacuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! it helps us improve!
we will have very soon A/C Heating units in all of the hotel rooms!
so we really hope to see you soon in our hotel!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews