We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
133
71
30
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
71
30
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan miguelhot waterquiet streetsmacharm
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 265 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not knowing what to expect other than what I had read. I chose Casa Quetzal because the price was perfect. When we arrived everything was taken care of and we received our key. The details are what count and in this case I had not packed hair gel. Simple right? I went to the front desk and the receptionist was kind enough to fill a little pouch with her own since the hotel did not have any. She even made it a point to bring it up with the owners and they plan on having some available for guests in the future. WOW!!

Great place!!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed so much Casa Quetzal!
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in our hotel soon!

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here at the end of June for a couple of nights. Our overall experience was ok, although not outstanding. If you consider value/money paid vs other hotels in Mexico you might feel its not worth it, hwoever you must consider that all hotels in the area must be boutique hotels so they will be a bit expensive. The place is very well located, easy walking distance from main street. Hotel staff are nice, although limited (it seemed only 2 people where on call at all times or at least visible). Their valet service is quite convenient as you do not have to worry about parking or anything, we just left our car upon arrival and forgot about it.

I do not know if all rates include breakfast but if yours does, the restaurant "El Correo" where breakfast is provided is only <10 minutes walking distiance and the food is great.

What I did not like was that our room did not have A/C and only had a VERY Noisy A/C kind of substitute mobile apparatus on the floor. If you wanted to sleep, you had to turn it off, but if the door was closed, you woke up because of the heat. What we had to do was open the door at night and sleep like if we were in a cabin on a lake in 1960. That was fine until the second night of our stay where there was a group that arrived for a wedding on Saturday and on Friday decided to go out for drinks and come back at 3am yelling, screaming, going back and forth between rooms looking for God knows what.

So....my recommendation is to get a room with A/C, we saw a couple of rooms that had A/C so definitely ask for those when booking the hotel.

Other than that it was a great stay, the valet boy was very helpful and when my wife and I where chilling after a long day of walking he went to the store for us to get us a couple of cold cokes which was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Get one with A/C.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santiagoacuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! it helps us improve!
we will have very soon A/C Heating units in all of the hotel rooms!
so we really hope to see you soon in our hotel!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A small beautiful boutique hotel, nothing fancy, however it has everything you need...it has a great location just a couple of blocks from the main square...within minutes walking to the best restaurants in town...

However what makes this hotel great its the wonderful staff they have specially Daniela, who made everything possible to have a great stay....since we were looking for a place to stay when we arrived to San Miguel, she didn't hesitate and she showed every room available, letting us choose the room we liked the most...

Breakfast at el correo was amazing, with a nice selection of dishes and very friendly staff...overall a nice stay in a beautiful colonial city..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EzMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments!
we are very happy Daniela made you feel like home! and that your experience at our hotel was a good one!

Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from beautiful San Miguel de Allende. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. Right in the city center. The rooms and the staff were superb. Will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed Casa Quetzal! Thank you for staying with us!
we look forward to your return!

Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Casa Quetzal has a pleasant setting, with rooms set around various quiet courtyards with nice fountains and plants. It has a great location, within minutes of walking to the main square of San Miguel and the rooms are small but comfortable. However, it falls down on some of the details which would make it a great place to stay. To begin with, there is no breakfast in house, and although they give you a ticket for a minimum breakfast (coffee, eggs and juice) at a restaurant two blocks away, the restaurant doesnt open until 0830 which means if you need to leave before that time you dont get any breakfast. We also found the staff polite but not particularly engaged, no details on breakfast were provided to us on checkin, we had to ask for all the basic information we needed, and our key would not easily open the door, meaning we had to get this looked at. The TV was of a grainy quality and the view of the main church from the balcony was partially blocked by barbed wire fencing. All in all, a pleasant well located place, but not in the class of top boutique hotels in San Miguel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments!
we regret you could not have your breakfast at 7 am unfortunately in mexico most restaurants open between 8 and 9 am

we take your comments into consideration with the aim of improving our hotel

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews