We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
133
71
30
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
71
30
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan miguelhot waterquiet streetsmacharm
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 265 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from beautiful San Miguel de Allende. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. Right in the city center. The rooms and the staff were superb. Will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed Casa Quetzal! Thank you for staying with us!
we look forward to your return!

Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Casa Quetzal has a pleasant setting, with rooms set around various quiet courtyards with nice fountains and plants. It has a great location, within minutes of walking to the main square of San Miguel and the rooms are small but comfortable. However, it falls down on some of the details which would make it a great place to stay. To begin with, there is no breakfast in house, and although they give you a ticket for a minimum breakfast (coffee, eggs and juice) at a restaurant two blocks away, the restaurant doesnt open until 0830 which means if you need to leave before that time you dont get any breakfast. We also found the staff polite but not particularly engaged, no details on breakfast were provided to us on checkin, we had to ask for all the basic information we needed, and our key would not easily open the door, meaning we had to get this looked at. The TV was of a grainy quality and the view of the main church from the balcony was partially blocked by barbed wire fencing. All in all, a pleasant well located place, but not in the class of top boutique hotels in San Miguel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments!
we regret you could not have your breakfast at 7 am unfortunately in mexico most restaurants open between 8 and 9 am

we take your comments into consideration with the aim of improving our hotel

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel with a labyrinth of rooms and terraces extending from an entrance on Calle Hidalgo. The master suite was very reasonably priced (with air conditioning- not something you normally need, but at certain times of year a nice thing). The passages within are exposed to the sky and winding, with scattered areas for sitting and relaxing, as well as roof gardens. The hotel is very quiet and sleep was definitely not a problem. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. I have seen a note complaining about lack of english skills by some staff on this site, and it is true that some have better command of english than others, but this is Mexico, and it would benefit travelers to have some survival spanish skills at least, no matter where you go.
I would definitely recommend to others and would gladly return.

Room Tip: If you are traveling during a hot time of year ask specifically about air conditioning. Usually not required, but not all rooms have A/C and there are a few times of year that this is necessary.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbellal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments!
we are glad you enjoyed casa quetzal!
your feedback is really usefull and soon the whole hotel will have A/C units

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I loved this place! It is some kind of a house in a very good location, it has a huge tree in the middle of the lobby, the decoration and the building is Spanish Colonial, Cantera walls, lovly terraces full of Bugambilias trees!
The hotel is not new, it needs a little bit of maintenance but this negative point is totally compasated on the extremly kind staff.
It has free WI-FI signal, they can do your laundry for almost free (you only tip them), they have a safety box. We stayed in a Master Suite that included a really nice private terrace with views to the Parroquia.
The hotel has no restaurant, but for us it was not a problem because you are in down town area, you can go to some of the really nice restaurants to have a good coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValeriaGLinCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Manager at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are so happy to hear you had a great honeymoon at casa quetzal!
We hope to see you back in our hotel for your anniversary celebration!

Kind regards and thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I booked this hotel on Booking.com, this was my first mistake! The website has pictures associated with each room and promises certain amenities with each room. I had a narrowed my decision to 3 different hotels, all with fridge and microwave and coffee maker, this was imperitive for the kind of schedule we were anticipating while in San Miguel. I chose Casa Quetzal based on the photos and good location.

From the minute we arrived it was not good. First of all the receptionist does not speak english, why is that? Your in customer service, when your a hotel, there are people out there who speak both languages. We were given a basic hotel room that looked nothing like in the photos. But try to make yourself understood, not easy. When you are tired and have been travelling all day it is the last thing you want to deal with! There was no fridge, no microwave and no coffee maker. It was only after I refused to take that room and insisted on the room I booked that they called the manager on the phone and told him of my displeasure in the room. We spoke on the phone and at first his stand was that it was not his fault that booking.com misrepresented the room. Well who's fault is it for goodness sake! After pointing out that they are responsible for a site that represents them, he relented. I also informed him that I was a flight attendant of 25 years and that is all I do is stay in hotel rooms.

I will conclude by saying that we were given the same room, but that they brought us a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The room was rather dark, I like a more lighted room, but it was nice and comfortable. The manager did provide us with what we booked and was polite.

However they need to have a bilingual receptionist and have online booking sites that represent them with the correct photos for each room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakesideCatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guerras2, Director General at Casa Quetzal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback we are quite sorry for your inconveniences but we are glad our manager could do his best to make you more comfortable.
Unfortunately websites like the one you mention do misinterpret the room and its features which are not listed in our hotel website.
we will do our best to try to settle this confusion with the travel websites but we encourage our guests to book directly with us to avoid any problems of any kind.

Again thank you for your comments

Kind regards.
Casa Quetzal & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews