We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice items for reasonable prices, fun blocks long walk”

Mercado de Artesanias
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small market is located on a narrow side street.
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice items for reasonable prices, fun blocks long walk”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Entering off Mesones behind the church on the street with many meat stores you start from the east at the mercado. Then, a little to the north you start in the upstairs of the Mercado de Artesanias, go down the stairs and keep walking down hill (west).

Loads of similar items to what you will find in town, but slightly better prices and substantially more variety. Worth the long walk down and practice your Spanish with the very friendly folks along the way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    48
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
210 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tzchatchis and more.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

*lots of stalls with arts and crafts from all over Mexico
*be sure to bargain with them
*banos at the top of the stairs for 5 pesos
*check out the vinyl colorful bag maker on the side of the mercado on calle loreto.... easy and fun gifts to put in suitcase
*at the top of the stairs is Mercado Ignacio Ramirez with vendors selling seafood cocktails, flowers, handmade tortillas and cheese
* the shoe and leather vendors have some wonderful items CHEAP!!! pick up a nice pair of shoes for next to nothing!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MsFunmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't shop anywhere else!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the very best selection of art and crafts in San Miguel. Better quality and prices than the shops on the square. I bought jewelry and belts, and wished I could have bought art and rugs. Beautiful things!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
448 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Visit after two years”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We first visited in Aug/09 and again this Aug. Two years ago, we were a bit put off by some shop keepers quoting prices in US Dollars and inflated prices geared towards the "Gringos" and yes we are such! That said, it is an entertaining experience even though one might not purchase anything. Recommend starting at the top and working one's way down the hill.

We returned for a visit this last trip but found about half of the shops closed or vacated, which is an indicator of just how much business is down in not only San Miguel de Allende but many cities, towns and villages throughout Mexico. The arts and crafts people are suffering everywhere! Just prior to our trip, I read an article in the Mexican media that stated that tourism (Mexicans and foreigners) had gone down 70% versus 2007 in San Miguel de Allende and we saw some confirmation of this.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No visit to San Miguel de Allende is complete without a walk through the Mercado de Artesanias”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Whenever I come back to San Miguel de Allende, I go to the main market in el centro. After I've walked through the fruits, vegetables, flowers, and everything imaginable, I go to the outer part of the market and wander slowing down the many steps and shop at the Mercado de Artesanians. There is much the same there but always new treasures as well. About 8 years ago, our family came for Christmas. We had not been to San Miguel de Allende for 25 years. We went to the main market and found all of our provisions at the same stalls we'd shopped at so long ago. I don't remember the Artesanian market where it is now. There was a street market selling clay cooking vessels in the 1970's but all of the crafts and fun items is newer. Prices are usually cheaper in the market than in the stores and bargaining is allowed but harder to do than before. If you go all the way through the artensian market, along the part between Rolex and Hidalgo, you can visit shops where some of the crafts are made and artiists are painting their tin ware.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 43Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado de Artesanias also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Mercado de Artesanias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing