We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location & super service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Carmen
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location & super service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed one week at this Hotel B&B in San Miguel. The location could not be better just a couple of blocks from the central square and was the only place I found that provides both breakfast and the mid-day meal.....delicious offerings. The owner is on site and was helpful at every request as was the staff. Internet service and free wi-fi. Will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55229Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
27
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Casa Carmen is incredible. I spent four weeks here while studying and working in San Miguel, and being able to live at Casa Carmen made my experience I will never forget and only hope to replicate. My room was beautiful with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on and thirty-foot ceilings. And the friendly maids give it a top-to-bottom cleaning every day.

Every guest receives (if they would like) breakfast and lunch in the dining room. Breakfast was perfect – hearty and delicious – and there is a menu of over fifteen different options to choose from (both Mexican and American). Lunch is always a three course meal involving a more traditionally Mexican dish. I really expanded my food horizons and came to really enjoy some Mexican cuisine that I had never come across in the States.

The other thing Casa Carmen has going for it is location. It is two blocks from the Jardín, which is the central plaza here in San Miguel. The Jardín is where it all happens, and if you stay at Casa Carmen, you are literally only a stone’s throw away. But if you’re tired from a long day of work or study or exploring, don’t be afraid to just hang out and read or use the free wireless internet in the beautiful central courtyard. In fact, you will probably never want to leave!

I wholeheartedly recommend Casa Carmen because of its beautiful facilities, warm, friendly, and welcoming staff, its location, and its unbeatable affordability.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbardenwerper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I went to San Miguel with my partner last year, we did not only fall in love more with each other but fell in love with The Casa.
The new owner is this very beautiful and charming lady and the staff was friendly and yes we fell in love with them also.
We felt like we were in another world, full of calm and beautiful surrenders.
We will definitelly try to come back. If you want to be at peace, discover the world and be pampered with amazing food and sweetness all around I definitelly recomend you stay here. I still have dreams about this city and Casa Carmen. We are still thankful for this experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Casa Carmen. We are very grateful that you took the time to think of us. Given our location, facilities, and staff, it is not hard for us to provide a romantic atmosphere for our guests - not only for them to grow closer to each other but also to fall in love with San Miguel de Allende. We hope you come back soon to Casa Carmen to enjoy the peace and beauty of our home and that of San Miguel de Allende!

Sincerely,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Cynthia Kulander, owner of Casa Carmen goes out of her way to ensure that her guests feel at home. She has a big heart and wants to be sure you are as comfortable as possible. She also wants to be sure your experience is authentic. I am a teacher who was there with 16 boys; Cynthia could not have been more welcoming. (We occupied the entire hotel) She did everything to make sure these young students had the best experience possible in this colonial town. She even organized a going away party. It was an incredible two weeks.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghibellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Casa Carmen. We are very grateful that you took the time to think of us. We try to make your stay as wonderful as possible, and your positive review only gives us more motivation to fulfill our goal. We are so glad that we were able to provide your students the type of environment that nurtured their interest in Mexico while also making them feel at home. We love to host groups like yours. We hope you come back soon to Casa Carmen to enjoy the peace and beauty of our home and that of San Miguel de Allende!

Sincerely,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have been fortunate to travel throughout the U.S., much of Continental Europe, and a bit of Mexico. Let us eagerly and sincerely say that Casa Carmen is our all-time favorite hotel / B&B to date. Casa Carmen is the authentic deal. Family ownership for decades and a kind, well-tenured staff (the chef has been there over thirty years, I think?) make Casa Carmen the sort of gem you long for, but haven't found. Until now. My wife and I enjoyed the main room, "the Penthouse" on the second floor, which you reach by a fun, ever-narrowing (but simple) stone staircase. My elderly mother stayed in a cool, tidy one bedroom spot on the ground floor.

From the outside, Casa Carmen barely announces its presence. Slowly push open and step through the very heavy old wooden door, into the vaulted stone vestibule, then through the iron gate into the courtyard, and only a fool would not recognize what a beautiful place this is. The location, at the intersection of Correo and Recreo, is as good as can be had in San Miguel. It is close to el centro, the jardin, a few blocks away, but not so close as to pick up sounds of activity (some might call that noise; in San Miguel I call it sounds of activity).

Casa Carmen is a true B&B, even better. Why? We are tired of so-called B&Bs that offer an inedible breakfast. At Casa Carmen, breakfast AND lunch are included in the price of your room, which was very reasonable when we were there. The meals are excellent. Not simply good, but truly excellent creations, nothing cheapo or boring. The breakfast is served from a menu of at least ten items, from which you choose. Lunch is the daily special plus too much dessert, but my wife would argue that.

While in San Miguel de Allende, be sure to take an ATV trip to Atotonilco, a nearby small town. Also see the Biblioteca, the town square, wear out a pair of shoes, and we suggest these restaurants: La Grotta and Tio Lucas's. There are many other restaurants, of course, but these two are our favorites. Keep in mind that your restaurant demand will be reduced by Casa Carmen's wonderful meals.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoSpringsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Casa Carmen. We are very grateful that you took the time to think of us. We try to make your stay as wonderful as possible, and your positive review only gives us more incentive to fulfill our goal. We want our guests to feel at home at Casa Carmen during their visits to San Miguel de Allende. While we like our guests to enjoy San Miguel, we also like them to have the option to spend a relaxing day inside our doors enjoying our meals or reading in our courtyard. We hope you come back soon to Casa Carmen to enjoy the peace and beauty of our home and that of San Miguel de Allende!

Sincerely,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great place. Automatically has an atmosphere which gives you are feeling of the style of building and history of the building.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLAPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of Casa Carmen. We are very grateful that you took the time to think of us. Here at Casa Carmen, we pride ourselves in providing authentic Mexican hospitality to our valued guests, whether that is in the form of our traditional meals or historically themed decor. We hope you come back soon to Casa Carmen to enjoy the peace and beauty of our home and that of San Miguel de Allende!

Sincerely,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Casa Carmen - an unexpected oasis in the middle of San Miguel.
Very cosy, clean and comfortable and the staff are very warm and generous with lots of information on San Miguel.
Your breakfast and (large) lunch are included in the price of your room. Don't miss either one because they are very good.
Cynthia is the owner of CC and she is wonderful - very helpful with arranging for a shuttle to Mexico City airport and anything else you may require.
I met many wonderful people (most repeat customers) from all over the US and Canada.
I will absolutely return to Casa Carmen.
No parking for your vehicle but it can be arranged and tv in your room but there is a central area with a computer, printer, phone and big screen tv.
Meals are served in a large sitting area and the young girls working there are very cheerful and will help you with your Spanish!
"Home away from Home" - just don't have to do the dishes!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rita04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback about Casa Carmen. We are very grateful that you took the time to think of us. One of our goals is that our guests fall in love with Mexico, and we believe that that starts with providing them a welcoming accommodations that will feel like home. We hope you come back soon to Casa Carmen to enjoy the peace and beauty of our home and that of San Miguel de Allende!

Sincerely,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.0 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Los Olivos
Casa De Los Olivos
#19 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#14 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#10 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen

Property: Casa Carmen
Address: Calle Correo 31 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing