We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property !! The Best of San Miguel”
Review of Casa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
RivieraMaya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Property !! The Best of San Miguel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just want to say thanks for all datails this is the best choice in san miguel very close of all, great location !! the best Food! and the best staff for all !! gracias!!!!! i really recomend this place

Room Tip: the best of san miguel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Carmen. As you said, we are ideally located but more importantly, we try hard to make our guests' stay comfortable and memorable. We also make sure that you find CC a place to feed not only your body with warm, delicious, and appetizing food but also nurturing food for your soul. Please come back visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
27
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My friend and I luxuriated in Casa Carmen's Mexican charm and enjoyed every meal immensely. The staff are so congenial and accommodating. We were graciously included in a special event taking place during our stay, a demonstration of outdoor cooking techniques by an award-winning chef from Michoacan. The demonstration was fascinating, we had a hands-on lesson creating a leaf-wrapped tamal called a Corunda. Watching the ancient techniques and sampling the delicious food was a very unique opportunity. We mingled with very interesting people and got great photos, too. I have stayed in San Miguel many times, never in such a great location as Casa Carmen. The owner, Cynthia, was helpful and responsive to our needs. I look forward to another lovely stay at Casa Carmen, soon!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, including the demo cooking from the award-winning chef from Michoacan. It is guests like you who make our place a unique place to meet interesting people and to make your vacation and stay with us memorable. We hope to see you again! Again, thanks for writing a review of Casa Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The complete package, the location, the staff, the beautiful property,and Cynthia the owner. No doubt, if you want to experience the true culture and tradition of San Miguel de Allende, your stay should include Casa Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mormlmmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, and for staying with us. We always strive to achieve complete customer satisfaction while providing our guests with a place that is a home away from home. Hope you come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Casa Carmen recently, it was our first trip to San Miguel. But we met other guests who had stayed there for each of their six visits to the area.
Our stay at Casa Carmen was great.
They were very helpful before our visit to answer several questions via email.
They were helpful to arrange transportation from the airport for us.
Once we got there the staff was friendly and helpful.
The food was WONDERFUL - always fresh, different menus each day, good variety.
Our room was large and accommodating.

Room Tip: We had the penthouse - it is large and has a nice area outside that looks down on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnd3459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very glad that you and your family selected Casa Carmen and enjoyed your stay here. Indeed, we have many repeat visitors who have been staying with us for more than 10 years, and who come back for the reasons you stated in your review: the friendliness of our staff and our home cooked meals that always get rave reviews, courtesy of our cook Betty who has been with us for 30 years! We make sure that our guests feel right at home, and provide the most comfortable amenities you can find in a B&B. We hope you come stay with us again on your next visit to San Miguel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been leading folk art tours to San Miguel de Allende for seven soul filling years. There is nothing I enjoy more then sharing the charm, culture, folk art and traditions of San Miguel with my guests. Casa Carmen provides a true sense of home, comfort, charm, delicious meals, great location, and caring staff. For these reasons and so many more Casa Carmen has become my home away from home while in Mexico and it is always an honor to return with my guests several times a year.
Cynthia is amazing to work with, a welcoming embodiment of mi casa es su casa. She is attentive, resourceful, and willing to indulge my latest whims for the newest groups with fabulous meals, music, flowers and generous toasts of tequila.
if you are hoping for a friendly, relaxing, quaint home away from home while you enjoy your days in San Miguel, I cannot recommend Casa Carmen enough!

Room Tip: Be sure and let Cynthia know if you need a room on the floor level, or have special dietary needs, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It always gives us pleasure to serve our guests and make their stay here as comfortable as possible. We strive to cater to their special requests and needs. Most specially, we feel very happy to see our guests return to stay with us. As you have stated, our motto is: “Mi casa es su casa!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our bed and breakfast, Casa Carmen, was built three hundred and fifty years ago and was the
home of a count. The walls are two feet thick and can be shuttered to keep out the noise and light when one is sleeping.

It comes with a delicious full breakfast and a three course Mexican luncheon. For dinner we have an endless number of very delicious and interesting restaurants within a short stroll.

The courtyard of the hotel is where we enjoy relaxing. There is a fountain in the center and an arcade on two sides with an arched portico covered with climbing Bougainville, shrimp plant and orange trees ladened with oranges and fragrant blossoms. Marmalade is made from these Seville oranges and we enjoy that each morning. The courtyard is where we get our Internet service, congregate to visit, read or draw. Sometimes the maids are busy cleaning and chattering. Sometimes it's the hub of activity and other times it's quiet enough for a nap. My room was off the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful and accurate description of Casa Carmen. Our family has run the B&B for three generations, and we do our best to maintain the old world charm and beauty of the place combined with the comforts of modern day amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I just spent a week at Casa Carmen on a artist painting retreat (18 painters) and found it to not only perfect for our purposes, but just perfect overall! The courtyard is beautiful - with the fountain bubbling all day, and the sun hitting the stone pavement, it couldn't be any more charming and comfortable. The breakfast and lunches were delightful and our group had many, many (MANY!) dietary needs and requests and each and every one was honored in a delicious and satisfying way. My room (Magnolia) was large with a walk in closet and a pretty nice bathroom. Cynthia and the staff were very attentive and I don't know if she does this with all her groups, but every evening someone circled the courtyard with a carafe of tequila or mescal and a tray of shot glasses! How fun is that? As other reviewers have stated, the location is perfect for getting around town on foot and I spent lots of time walking around town, including visiting the Jardin, the artisans and food market and all the area shops. When you're inside the walls of Casa Carmen, you feel like you're in the middle of a quiet and protected sanctuary, but when you step out the gate, you're in the thick of an amazing, bustling, friendly and safe "village". Every time I walked out the gate, I felt like I was walking onto a perfect movie set, ala Steven Spielberg! I can't wait to take my husband and friends back to Casa Carmen AND San Miguel!

Room Tip: Magnolia would be perfect for a couple. Plenty of room to unpack, two comfortable chairs with a tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniseg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review for Casa Carmen. We very much enjoyed meeting all of you and are glad to know that you also enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again with your friends or family when you come visit San Miguel de Allende. We appreciate every guest’s feedback so that we can maintain our tradition of providing our guests with the best stay at Casa Carmen and enjoying beautiful San Miguel de Allende.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.0 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 135 in San Miguel de Allende
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Tio Hotel Boutique
Casa del Tio Hotel Boutique
#16 of 135 in San Miguel de Allende
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Oratorio
Casa Oratorio
#26 of 135 in San Miguel de Allende
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana San Miguel
Casa Mexicana San Miguel
#53 of 135 in San Miguel de Allende
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Cinco Patios
Casa Cinco Patios
#4 of 135 in San Miguel de Allende
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen

Property: Casa Carmen
Address: Calle Correo 31 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing