We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO es lo que parece. Not what it looks like.”
Review of Casa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NO es lo que parece. Not what it looks like.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

In my case. They changed the room for a smaller one, which is way in the back of the place. The room has motel style soap and shampoo, horrible quality. And never got more, so we had to use the little pieces. They don´t accept credit card and I was not told about this. They do not give you a Factura, or invoice, so you won´t be able to deduct from your taxes, which is forbidden by law in Mexico, by the way. (Again they don´t tell you this either).
The people are nice, but I never met the owner as other people says in these comments. I am very dissapointed about this place, I was looking for a romantic place to spend with my girlfriend and we both were very sad about the price and what you get from it. (It´s only a place to stay within Downtown San Miguel, but there are a lot more places nicer than this one which have both location and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savadaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am so very sorry that you found your stay inadequate. We strive to make our guests as comfortable and welcome as possible. As you can tell from our guest comments, the vast majority of guests leave Casa Carmen wanting to return year after year. However, we know from being in business for over 50 years that, no matter what, there will be guests for whom this is not the right match. If shampoo is what defines your stay, rather than our memorable meals, warmth, comfort, and hospitality, and the ambiance of a colonial home from the 18th century, then a spa hotel may be what you are looking for rather than a bed and breakfast. Notwithstanding this, I assure you I will look into why you were not provided soap on your additional days and I truly hope this was not the reason you left the room in the condition we found it. We don’t often get guests as young as you, but we always hope their behavior is a reflection of the good manners they learned.

In our webpage you will find that we do not accept credit cards and we also mentioned it over the phone. I do apologize, though, perhaps we missed clarifying this to you. Regardless of your misunderstanding, I sincerely hope you return to our beautiful city and experience what it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
27
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The location of Casa Carmen is ideal, just 1.5 blocks from the main plaza. The building is centuries old, full of charm and character, spacious rooms arrayed around a central courtyard planted with orange trees and a fountain in the center, comfortable chairs outside the rooms, it's a great place to hang out and meet other guests or just relax. The staff are all friendly and warm, the owner Cynthia speaks English and is very helpful. One of the pluses is that price includes both breakfast and lunch, and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mocona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mocona,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. And thank you so much for your wonderful comments about Casa Carmen. My mom used to say that Casa Carmen atracts amazing people. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Next time you visit us, we will be happy to give you a discount. We do that for all of our return guests.

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Charming hotel/inn. There is a courtyard, like most hotels in San Miguel, and it is especially relaxing with the lovely fountain in the center and comfortable chairs scattered around colorful tile tables. All the rooms are different: floor plan, decorating, color scheme. The location cannot be beat, being walking distance to absolutely everything! Cindy gave top notch recommendations on restaurants. I highly recommend Casa Carmen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a very positive feedback of Casa Carmen. We really give a lot of care and attention to not only in creating a charming, clean, and beautiful place but also in making our guests comfortable, relaxed, and satisfied. We make sure that guests get the best B&B accommodations and hospitality that they could find in San Miguel de Allende and we give care to everything from designing each room to providing warm, home-cooked, delicious, and healthy breakfasts and lunches. We hope you will return to stay with us whenever you visit San Miguel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Casa Carmen--a comfortable destination including incredible food.
Breakfast was served daily and lunch every day but Sunday. This home away from home was located just a couple of blocks from the Jardin, so it was possible to take off on foot almost anywhere in town. The owner, Cynthia was on hand daily to help you with any questions about directions or information about local events. The staff was friendly and always there to help you with all of your needs. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back and upstairs are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildWest51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Gerente at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write, was a pleasure to serve you and be always aware of what you need. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Cynthia and her staff were incredibly welcoming. We had 2 rooms, both were lovely. They have a computer for guest use and a television. The location is perfect, about 2 blocks from the main square where we enjoyed a free concert.The bakery next door offers a creative brunch menu and good cappuccino. During the week and Saturdays, breakfast and lunch are included in the rate, no lunch on Sunday. Be sure to let Cynthia know in advance if you will be arriving in time for lunch and they will prepare it for you. The cooks made an exception for us as we did not know to give them notice. The courtyard, fountain and smell of orange blossoms was simply divine. You will not be disappointed staying at Casa Carmen!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Mayto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Gerente at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
thank you very much for your opinion! I am glad that your stay with us has been satisfactory, is what motivates us to continue worrying for you to spend a good time here. hope to see you again! and thanks again for taking the time to write!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

As the growing expat presence threatens to tart up San Miguel with too many slick boutiques and upscale restaurants, Casa Carmen is a refreshing reminder that luxury and comfort can be much more simple. The 400-year-old courtyard building is beautifully maintained. It's clean, solid, and authentic - and wears its historical patina well. The level of service is warm, personal, and attentive, all the way from owner Cynthia across to every staff member. We felt like we were visiting relatives who truly cared about the quality of our experience. Both breakfast and lunch are included in the room rate. At first we thought that it might be inconvenient to have to return to the inn for lunch, but it turned out that the central location made it as easy a destination as any restaurant in town, and the food was as delicious - ample portions of lovingly home-cooked regional cuisine served either in the homey dining room or adjacent to a lovely fountain in the courtyard. When we go back to San Miguel we will stay here again and recommend all of our friends to do the same.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsverdloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Gerente at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
thank you very much for your opinion! I really glad we can make you feel at home, everything is here to serve you and give good service. your opinion motivates us to continue to serve well and with more desire! hopefully have it here again! and again thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

have just returned to Australia from a life changing experience in this gorgeous B.&B. 12 days painting with Flora Bloom . welcomed with open arms by Cynthia and her staff. beautiful atmosphere , delicious meals by Bernice and her staff always served with a smile . When one comes through the big front door into the beautiful courtyard one is assailed by the sense of peace and tranquility, bird songs (even saw emerald green hummingbirds) and perfumed flowers. Lovely comfy clean bedrooms and this casa is so close to the centre of town. so close to the centre of town... this will stay in my memory for ever
Patsy Howell

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Location, location, location. This is one advantage that Casa Carmen has over many B&Bs in San Miguel de Allende. But our central location is just one of the best things about CC; we strive to give the best service and hospitality to our guests. We want them to have a very relaxing and comfortable stay. And we treat each guest like family. We are very glad you had a memorable time at CC and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.0 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Carmina Hotel
Posada Carmina Hotel
#37 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Los Olivos
Casa De Los Olivos
#18 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Correo
Hotel Casa Correo
#37 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa del Tio Hotel Boutique
Casa del Tio Hotel Boutique
#16 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen

Property: Casa Carmen
Address: Calle Correo 31 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing