We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Experience”
Review of Casa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2012

As the growing expat presence threatens to tart up San Miguel with too many slick boutiques and upscale restaurants, Casa Carmen is a refreshing reminder that luxury and comfort can be much more simple. The 400-year-old courtyard building is beautifully maintained. It's clean, solid, and authentic - and wears its historical patina well. The level of service is warm, personal, and attentive, all the way from owner Cynthia across to every staff member. We felt like we were visiting relatives who truly cared about the quality of our experience. Both breakfast and lunch are included in the room rate. At first we thought that it might be inconvenient to have to return to the inn for lunch, but it turned out that the central location made it as easy a destination as any restaurant in town, and the food was as delicious - ample portions of lovingly home-cooked regional cuisine served either in the homey dining room or adjacent to a lovely fountain in the courtyard. When we go back to San Miguel we will stay here again and recommend all of our friends to do the same.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsverdloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Gerente at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

thank you very much for your opinion! I really glad we can make you feel at home, everything is here to serve you and give good service. your opinion motivates us to continue to serve well and with more desire! hopefully have it here again! and again thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 123 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

have just returned to Australia from a life changing experience in this gorgeous B.&B. 12 days painting with Flora Bloom . welcomed with open arms by Cynthia and her staff. beautiful atmosphere , delicious meals by Bernice and her staff always served with a smile . When one comes through the big front door into the beautiful courtyard one is assailed by the sense of peace and tranquility, bird songs (even saw emerald green hummingbirds) and perfumed flowers. Lovely comfy clean bedrooms and this casa is so close to the centre of town. so close to the centre of town... this will stay in my memory for ever
Patsy Howell

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Location, location, location. This is one advantage that Casa Carmen has over many B&Bs in San Miguel de Allende. But our central location is just one of the best things about CC; we strive to give the best service and hospitality to our guests. We want them to have a very relaxing and comfortable stay. And we treat each guest like family. We are very glad you had a memorable time at CC and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

i had the deep pleasure of hosting a painting retreat with the alluring destination of san miguel de allende. casa carmen seemed the most fitting home for our group and a charming ample courtyard for our creative needs. think enormous canvases, easels, a wild array of paints, paint brushes, and enough room for fifteen passionate artists to follow their muse. i share this with you so you will understand how far cynthia and her entire staff extended themselves beyond our wildest expectations to make an art retreat of a life time come true.

my group all found their rooms charming and sparkly clean, our meals together extraordinary, the staff thoughtful, accommodating and friendly.

i want to offer my deepest thanks to cynthia for her kindness and resourcefulness. she was invaluable in helping with many logistical needs for the workshop far in advance of our arrival. she answered my emails quickly and with great willingness and kindness. i have found a true friend in cynthia and casa carmen truly has won all our hearts!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi, on behalf of Cynthia and all the staff at Casa Carmen, I'd like to thank you for choosing CC to host your painting retreat. We strive to give our guests the best possible stay and to accommodate their every need. We hope you return with your groups and make CC your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Casa Carmen is a great "home away from home." A very open, welcome atmosphere created by Cynthia, Carolina and the rest of the staff.There are 11 rooms in a 400 year old building with an open courtyard where guests can relax in the sun around the fountain, meet other guests, read and just absorb the warm atmosphere. The full breakfast menu and three course lunch of family recipes are beautifully presented and gourmet quality. This B&B has the friendliness and helpfulness lacking in boutique hotels. Beautifully simple heavy wooden doors with latches, no locks, colorful tiles, skylights and thick walls, the rooms are quiet and calming and the building only a couple of blocks from the plaza and all the New Year's celebrations. We had planned to travel to other cities, but instead took day trips so we could return to Casa Carmen every night for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Carmen. CC is just as you described to be: a charming, tranquil, relaxing, and friendly place to be, just right at the heart of San Miguel de Allende so that you can always enjoy the activities going on at the plaza but just located two blocks away to make it convenient, comfortable, and calming place to go home to. We also do our best to serve quality and delicious meals to our guests. We hope you consider coming to visit us again on your next trip to SMA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Casa Carmen served as the location for a weeklong painting class I attended in San Miguel de Allende. From the moment I arrived, I felt welcomed and comfortable. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. Every meal I ate at the location was delicious and meticulously presented. The staff are very kind and Cynthia and Carolina are gracious and generous. The bulding reflects a history of the city, with it's colors and charm. The courtyard is a wonderful place to meet, share stories and enjoy the vibrant sounds of the city. The smell of orange blossoms and roses wake you and in mid afternoon the sun hits the water fountain and creates a perfect backdrop for enjoying a glass of wine and a good book. The location is very convenient in the heart of the city!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter, penthouse has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We enjoyed meeting you and everyone else in the group. Most of all, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for giving us a positive review. Contented clients like you make our hearts full and happy. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

About three short blocks from El Jardin, the central square where all the activity takes place. Woke up each morning looking at lovely brick ceiling with wooden beams and glass block skylight. Comfortable bed, some early morning street noise due to open window. Room had desk, two night stands with drawers and a dresser. Lots of hangers in closet. Side table with lamp. Lots of places to put your things and work on your computer (or use theirs in the general room where the TV also is). Pitcher filled with fresh water each day. Tile floors mopped, table tops dusted, belongings straightened every day. Bathroom/shower small, not fancy, but serviceable. Choice of pancakes, french toast, eggs in a variety of ways. 3 course lunches yummy, very filling, all traditional and home made. In Cynthia's absence, staff willingly struggled with English and my sign language (due to my lack of Spanish) trying their very best to be helpful and accommodating. Because of a scheduled care giving requirement, Cynthia (and her perfect English) was not on site, but called us to be sure we were well taken care of and to give instructions to her staff. Everyone was, you could say, loving, with plenty of smiles. You could get a cheaper place with no food service and eat out on-the-cheap for less, but the convenience and quality at Casa Carmen made the slight difference worth it. We paid $122. Left our belongings-- computer, money, and even passports in our unlocked room off the courtyard with no worry. Unless Hilton is the only hotel style you'd consider, I'd highly recommend Casa Carmen! We'd definitely go back. Spent a week in Nov 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHinSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to give your review of Casa Carmen, and for providing a description of the amenities and facilities of our beloved bed & breakfast, which was established more than four decades ago by Cynthia's mother, Natalia. Casa Carmen is named after Natalia's sister, Carmen, and Cynthia and her daughter Kris now run the place. Aside from being an excellent manager, Kris also speaks perfect English and so now guests are always assured that there is an English speaker in those few times of the year when Cynthia is away on business. But as you pointed out, our staff is always available and very professional. We strive to please our guests so that everyone feels welcome, safe, and at home. We are also constantly renovating our rooms so that each one is unique and comfortable. While we have rooms that face the street we also do have rooms located in the inner or back portion of Casa Carmen for those who prefer to be billeted in those. And food! We are well-known for our home-cooked food, healthy and savory, that provide our guests with the flavorful tastes of Mexican or continental cuisine, and the nourishment to enjoy their walks around the cobble-stoned streets of San Miguel de Allende, or simply spending time lazing around our beautiful courtyard. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Carmen and hope you come back and stay again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved this hotel. The rooms were well appointed, clean, and cozy. The courtyard is absolutely gorgeous with a fountain and flowers. A great place to sit and relax. There are wonderful little touches including tea, lemonade, and tequila. Cynthia is a very attentive host, and her staff is very professional. The food is great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60878Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We are very happy that you loved our place. Casa Carmen strives to offer the best amenities and comforts of a B&B so that you feel like you feel very much at home. Thank you for taking time to give your feedback. We have guests who keep coming back to stay with us for decades and they are like family to us. We do hope you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mia Suites Apartments
Casa Mia Suites Apartments
#2 of 81 in San Miguel de Allende
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Maricela
Casa Maricela
#20 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfas...
#3 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Casa Puesta Del Sol
#28 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clandestino Hotel
Clandestino Hotel
#7 of 141 in San Miguel de Allende
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen

Address: Calle Correo 31 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $109 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing