We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sampling of Mexican hospitality in a lovely, immaculate, setting.”
Review of Casa Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

About three short blocks from El Jardin, the central square where all the activity takes place. Woke up each morning looking at lovely brick ceiling with wooden beams and glass block skylight. Comfortable bed, some early morning street noise due to open window. Room had desk, two night stands with drawers and a dresser. Lots of hangers in closet. Side table with lamp. Lots of places to put your things and work on your computer (or use theirs in the general room where the TV also is). Pitcher filled with fresh water each day. Tile floors mopped, table tops dusted, belongings straightened every day. Bathroom/shower small, not fancy, but serviceable. Choice of pancakes, french toast, eggs in a variety of ways. 3 course lunches yummy, very filling, all traditional and home made. In Cynthia's absence, staff willingly struggled with English and my sign language (due to my lack of Spanish) trying their very best to be helpful and accommodating. Because of a scheduled care giving requirement, Cynthia (and her perfect English) was not on site, but called us to be sure we were well taken care of and to give instructions to her staff. Everyone was, you could say, loving, with plenty of smiles. You could get a cheaper place with no food service and eat out on-the-cheap for less, but the convenience and quality at Casa Carmen made the slight difference worth it. We paid $122. Left our belongings-- computer, money, and even passports in our unlocked room off the courtyard with no worry. Unless Hilton is the only hotel style you'd consider, I'd highly recommend Casa Carmen! We'd definitely go back. Spent a week in Nov 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHinSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to give your review of Casa Carmen, and for providing a description of the amenities and facilities of our beloved bed & breakfast, which was established more than four decades ago by Cynthia's mother, Natalia. Casa Carmen is named after Natalia's sister, Carmen, and Cynthia and her daughter Kris now run the place. Aside from being an excellent manager, Kris also speaks perfect English and so now guests are always assured that there is an English speaker in those few times of the year when Cynthia is away on business. But as you pointed out, our staff is always available and very professional. We strive to please our guests so that everyone feels welcome, safe, and at home. We are also constantly renovating our rooms so that each one is unique and comfortable. While we have rooms that face the street we also do have rooms located in the inner or back portion of Casa Carmen for those who prefer to be billeted in those. And food! We are well-known for our home-cooked food, healthy and savory, that provide our guests with the flavorful tastes of Mexican or continental cuisine, and the nourishment to enjoy their walks around the cobble-stoned streets of San Miguel de Allende, or simply spending time lazing around our beautiful courtyard. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Carmen and hope you come back and stay again with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved this hotel. The rooms were well appointed, clean, and cozy. The courtyard is absolutely gorgeous with a fountain and flowers. A great place to sit and relax. There are wonderful little touches including tea, lemonade, and tequila. Cynthia is a very attentive host, and her staff is very professional. The food is great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60878Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We are very happy that you loved our place. Casa Carmen strives to offer the best amenities and comforts of a B&B so that you feel like you feel very much at home. Thank you for taking time to give your feedback. We have guests who keep coming back to stay with us for decades and they are like family to us. We do hope you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

A little disappointed at for $150 dlls a night I expected a clean/new or remodeled place. It's an old house with a gorgeous courtyard. The cook and staff saved the day, great people, good location, but I don't think I would stay there again unless their prices were lowered. Food is included though, but generally you will only have breakfast there (which is OK) It's truly a bed& breakfast.
If you are planning on purchasing and shipping stuff to the U.S.
DON'T HIRE Alan Kent Moving Company, he shipped some very valuable pieces to Texas and my merchandise arrived broken, he made me paid in full even before I got it knowing that the piece have been broken before it crossed the border and even made me pay $100 dlls. more for extra packing! Better hire someone professional like La Union, it is more expensive but it is worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BebaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Beba,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And thank you for the compliments to my staff. I will certainly let them know. I'm so sorry that your stay with us was unsatisfactory, we strive to make our guests' stay a memorable one in Mexico and the fact that so many of our guests return is a testament to our efforts.

Regarding the price you mention, I would just like to clarify that you must have stayed in our penthouse suite, that is the reason for that price; the other rooms are $96 for a single, discounted to $88 for a 1 week stay and we apply another discount if staying over 25 days.

Secondly, we always endeavor to have our premises impeccably clean. I will check the date that you stayed with us and will look very carefully to see what happened when you stayed with us and definitely make adequate changes where needed.

Also, please give us more information regarding your response on the quality of your sleep here. One of the advantages of Casa Carmen and the reason many people pick us is that we are only one block from the Jardin. It is a very sought after location. But it is certainly an area that is typically noisy with the church bells and all the festivities that typically occur near the Jardin.

I agree with you, Casa Carmen is a typical B and B and we pride ourselves in being the first one in San Miguel, since over 50 years ago. Little by little we have been remodeling and the quality in the food has dramatically changed using only the best seasonal products and our staples are the best quality (I’m a nutrition consultant). Next time you come you will notice even more improvements and new homemade marmalades, for example. We are not a Boutique hotel and will always strive to keep the same atmosphere that entails a B & B.

I will appreciate your comments and take them into serious consideration.
Again, thank you so much for your comments.
Cynthia
Casa Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed in Casa carmen with my family and we all enjoyed this wonderful house, the lovely atmosphere, the excellent breakfast ans the quiet colonial patio.
Casa Carmen is a great adress for leisure located right in the center of San Miguel.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
Thank chil0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Chil0e,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Casa Carmen. And for writing such a nice one. As a return guest we will be happy to offer you a discount. We greatly appreciate your comments and are very happy that you had a nice time at Casa Carmen. We have new breakfast goodies!
Hasta Pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Returning to Casa Carmen is always a treat. I always look forward to my stay there and to the old world hospitality that one receives from the owner, Cynthia Kulander, and her employees. The cook, Dona Beatriz, is truly a find. Here you will find the best Chiles en Nogada as well as other traditional central Mexico dishes that you won't find in restaurants anywhere. And the breakfasts are to die for as well.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghibellina52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Ghibellina,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is greatly appreciated specially coming from a guest that keeps on returning to Casa Carmen. Next time you visit us you will find new additions to our breakfast!
My staff and I are always happy to receive such good reviews. I will let Dona Beatriz know that you remembered her Chiles en Nogada, she will be thrilled.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Casa Carmen exudes the flavors of Mexico. The rooms are centered around a private courtyard with seating for quiet reading or hanging out with friends. The rooms offer traditional Mexican furniture, authentic and simple in design. Our room was large with a closet and a private bathroom.

Breakfast includes traditional Mexican dishes, and American bacon is available for those of us who just can't give up our favorite breakfast meat. The owner, Cynthia, is eager to please, and her staff are available to help with whatever you need. When requested, Cynthia's staff prepared several appetizers (fresh guacamole, cheeses, empanadas, etc.) and brought out sangria and tequila for our group. The lunch entrees were yummy, too. We always started with a bowl of soup followed by a traditional Mexican entree and a sweet dessert to finish.

The location of Casa Carmen is perfect! It is a short block or two to the large church and the city garden. It is easily within walking distance of all the best the town has to offer.

There is a computer in the lobby for use by the hotel guests, and Cynthia's office is close by.

I highly recommend Casa Carmen for the traveler who wants to experience authentic Mexico. I commend Cynthia and her staff for their willingness to tackle whatever we needed. They want to please!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashvegas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacarmen, Owner at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Nashvegas,

We at Casa Carmen appreciate all reviews about their stay at our B&B. My staff and myself would like to thank you for yours as well. Your well written and descriptive one will help others view what Casa Carmen is really all about. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Again, thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

From the beautiful courtyard filled with flowers and lemon trees, to the delicious and authentic cuisine, to the friendly staff willing to do whatever it takes to make one's trip a pleasurable experience, I would highly recommend Casa Carmen as a great place to stay in San Miguel. The convenient location within easy walking distance to the center of town (El Jardin) and the charming owner who speaks both Spanish and fluent English make this B&B a haven for travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ike616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Staff at Casa Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

On behalf of Cynthia, the owner, and the whole staff of Casa Carmen, I would like to thank you for writing a glowing review. We are proud of our long tradition of providing the best service and accommodations for those who stay with us, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.1 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#31 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Casa Puesta Del Sol
#25 of 146 in San Miguel de Allende
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 146 in San Miguel de Allende
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sagrada Boutique Hotel
Sagrada Boutique Hotel
#20 of 146 in San Miguel de Allende
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Don Pascual
Casa Don Pascual
#27 of 146 in San Miguel de Allende
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Cordelli Villas
Casa Cordelli Villas
#37 of 87 in San Miguel de Allende
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carmen

Address: Calle Correo 31 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $118 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Carmen Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing