We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Staff, Beautiful Views, Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We read about Casa de Sierra Nevada in the "1000 Places You Have to See Before You Die" book. Some of those places you probably don't need to see, but San Miguel Allende is definitely worth the trip. It's an amazing little city with cobblestone streets, narrow sidewalks, no neon or stop lights, and many, many friendly people.

We arrived at Casa de Sierra Nevada at around 8:15 in the morning, after flying all night... both of us recovering from colds. The staff immediately attended to us and put us in room 416. It was divine... really lovely, very quiet (except for the world famous San Miguel bells) and the view was unbelievable. See the picture.

The rooms are truly above par, and the staff and service are incredible. For example, on our last night, the staff recommended a restaurant on the outskirts of town. They called us a cab, but when the staff spoke with the driver they decided he was charging too much so they found another driver-- but this driver didn't know how to get there. So the manager (Hannah Canilla) said "I'll take you" and she did! Talk about going the extra mile!

We had a package deal where we received breakfast every morning (excellent food) and two day trips with private tour guides. Freddy Rodriguez with Rafa tours, our guide to Guanajuato, was incredibly nice, very informed and a real pleasure to have as a guide. We're both vegetarians, and he really worked hard to find a suitable restaurant for lunch. He spoke English very well, too. Request him if you go.

Everyone really went out of their way to make us feel at home and made our trip incredibly smooth and wonderful. Pure bliss!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheDahlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 631 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2007

Beautiful and charming first class hotel conveniently located in the city of San Miguel. While the rooms were first class, the service and friendly staff exceeded our expectations. We are experienced travelers and would be hard pressed to name a hotel with a more exceptional staff. The quality of the restaurant matched that of the hotel. It would be hard to imagine returning to San Miguel and not staying at Casa De Sierra Nevada.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HoustonianRancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

We just returned from a weeklong, Thanksgiving visit with our teenage sons. The hotel staff was of the most pleasant we have ever experienced. In particular the Concirerge/Guest Relations Director, Hannah, was particularly helpful and pleasant. They took a personal interest in our experience and helped plan all of our activities. We'll return soon!

Jim in Houston

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jiminhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Last weekend my wife and I spent a great stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada in not exactly peaceful San Miguel. We stayed in one of their houses just two blocks away from the Parroquia. The hotel is just in the process of being remodeled, specially after they were acquired by the english chain Orient-Express, which surely will bring fresh air to this traditional place.

Since my wife and I were looking for some action, motorbiking and balloon travelling, we contacted in advance Hanna Maldonado, the hotel´s concierge, and we got both tours. She really went out of bounds to please us and she became our guide in the 4 wheel motorbiking tour which almost lasted 5 hours. We went to the countryside, going from great views at La Presa, with its rare birds, to mud-filled roads where we got soaked. We even ran into a loose bull in one of our runs!. The tour was exactly what we expected, if you want to try it I strongly recommend to contact Hanna and convice her to go with you, she knows all the roads and shortcuts!

The same night she recommended us Hacienda Landeta for late dinner. This small place with only 8 indoor tables is a must in San Miguel, the home-made fresh pasta served from the pan to your dish was delicious and the prices are right. There is no written menu, just the owner´s suggestions. Ask for Andrea.

Finally on sunday morning we took our daring balloon trip. The flight was great and the views stunning as we crossed San Miguel at 600 ft of altitude, this trip is not for everybody, after you realize you are flying that high in such a small space. We almost landed on a tree, but surely this was an experience.

I would like to thank Sierra Nevada and its staff, specially to Hanna, for such great attention. This made our weekend double enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Viajero46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2006

I recently stayed at the Hotel Sierra Nevada and was disappointed. The hotel had a lot of charm but not enough to justify the price, it lacked in many other areas. Our bathroom was a disaster (and we had a suite). Water sprayed everywhere and the towels were very rough. Also, there is no air conditioning so you have to sleep with the windows open and it is very loud and anyone can see right into your room. Another thing I was disappointed in was that we were overcharged for almost everything on the bill. They quoted is $280 for transport from Mexico City and on our bill charged us $400. They also added a few charges that we did not make. The food was great however and the waiters were very pleasant and accomodating. Also, San Miguel is wonderful and definitely worth the trip. Hopefully the orient express will make a lot of improvements to the place.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEFSEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

We loved our stay at the classic and charming jewel box of a hotel - Casa Sierra Nevada. It is the perfect hotel for this quintessential Mexican colonial town. We dined in the Parque house two nights and enjoyed the food, ambiance, music and margaritas! You have to visit the bullfights if they are on..in the small scale arena ...it was truly surreal. Rooms were quaint..fire burning in our room took the chill off the night air. The staff were extremely helpful although communication with some staff was a bit challenging. We loved our visit and promised to return next year.

Stayed: March 2006
4  Thank ZeroGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

My wife and I just got back from a week at this hotel. What a stunning place, with great Mexican hospitality at very reasonable prices. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#14 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#3 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $315 - $769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in the Mexican heartlands, Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada evokes the charm of a bygone era. San Miguel is an adventure for the senses. Yet at the very center of this vibrant city lies a safe haven that’s at once connected to the locale and is its own private sanctuary. Swing open our ancient, wooden front doors and the fiesta outside gives way to a siesta-like calm. Water fountains and blooming flowerpots dot the cluster of heritage mansions that make up the hotel. A large pool, fringed with lush foliage and plants, provides the perfect place to cool off. 17th- and 18th-century buildings reveal inner courtyards, terraces and gardens. Here, history is woven into every stucco wall, tiled bath and curved ceiling, all balanced with modern luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing