We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place, incredible people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I just returned from San Miguel where I visited with a group of 20 people. There are two stories here -- first how much we loved the hotel and the town, and second how amazing the hotel handled the swine flu situation.

First of all, everyone in our group (some of whom can be picky!) absolutely loved the hotel. To start, everyone you meet who works there -- reception, restaurant, spa, cooking school team, maintenance -- could not possibly be more helpful, solicitous, gracious or genuine. They love what they do and it shows, and their pride in their hometown is very evident. The hotel's rooms are all different, but universally interesting and fun. The level of cleanliness, efficiency of housekeeping and condition of the property is excellent and impressed even our most extreme 'clean-freaks'. The hotel is like a secret paradise hidden inside colonial period historic houses. Beyond the facility, the location is perfect about 3 blocks from the main plaza. The hotel was incredible at arranging activities for our group -- we LOVED the house tour and the spa. Food was very good -- the pancakes at breakfast are the best ever and we never tasted fresher guacamole. Crepes Suzette at Parque were a real treat! We also loved hanging out by the pool. You'll feel pampered here. OK -- simply stated, it was great -- people, place, town, etc.

So, we arrive on Sunday amid so concern about Swine Flu and it just gets worse. So we decided on Tuesday morning to leave earlier than planned -- on Wednesday morning. How did the hotel react? They said, 'How can we make your last day amazing?' And they did -- we had a wonderful party, mariachis at dinner, and on and on. They did the right thing in every regard without us even asking. Laura Chavez handled our group. She is relatively new there, but you wouldn't know that. Laura is a special person who made us feel at home. She kept us informed with all developments regarding the flu situation (no cases in San Miguel while we were there), assured us that medical assistance was available thru the hotel, communicated regularly with openness and honesty, and made us feel comfortable. When we decided to leave early, she helped make all of the arrangements quickly and efficiently. When Laura needed help, the rest of the team joined in. Laura also tried to teach us to dance to the mariachis. They are amazing. While the general manager Marc Rodriquez was out of town, he personally called us to make sure everything was being done to our satisfaction. He must be pretty good looking at his team.

So, i don't mean to sound like the marketing department, but it's one thing to see how a place does in normal times. In difficult times, the true colors show, and in this difficult time, the team at Casa de Sierra Nevada showed what an amazing place this is. We felt special and inspired by all of them, especially given all of the concerns that they must have been facing with this flu situation affecting their country and families. We pray for their safety.

Our group visits a different place every year. For the first time, our group wants to return here. We felt sad that our trip was cut short and we missed out on some of the amazing thinks in San Miguel. We had to cancel the cooking school, some tours and more... But, we'll be back! A truly special place.

If you have any questions about this hotel, we would love to tell you how great they are. The hotel can put you in touch with us as a reference.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2009

Dear Jeff,
It was a pleasure having you here. We are very sorry you had to leave earlier, but all the staff is delighted because you and your group really had a great time. For us that is the important thing. It was our pleasure to assist you with all your activities and necessities.
Thank you for your stay in Casa de Sierra Nevada and for your complimentary comments regarding our staff and service. We would love to have you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 620 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2009

Beautiful hotel, great location, A MUST!!! The service was fantastic, the food was amazing. The kind of place you never want to leave. Great value, if that's price range you are interested in.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugKWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2009

Dear TravelBug,
The staff at Casa de Sierra Nevada is pleased that you had a nice experience. Than you very much for your comment and we look forward to welcoming back soon!

Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Wonderful hotel! The staff was exceptional! Food was quite delicious! Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninnaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2009

Dear ninnaHouston,
Thank you for your comment; we look forward to welcoming back at Casa de Sierra Nevada.
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Several friends and I had such a wonderful stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada! Since I planned the trip, I worked closely with Harubi on the best things to do while we were there. She had everything we wanted arranged and assured that all went well with our plans...even following up on something we shipped with the local company. This is the perfect place to stay for walking to the center of town while having a welcoming refuge at day's end. The staff was always most helpful and accommodating. We will definitely return with larger suitcases! We especially enjoyed the cooking school at Sazon with the visit to the local produce market....what an amazing display of beautiful fruits and vegetables!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TidewaterTraveler_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2009

Dear Tidewater Traveler, We are very happy to know you really enjoyed your stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada. Harubi and all the staff are very thankful for your comment. We will be glad to have you here again with your largest suitcases!
Kind Regards, The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

It’s a Great Experience to explore this different concept hotel, with many buildings, that gives you a different sensation to the "usual things"
Rooms are Great, I recommend room 444, which has a private small pool in the terrace, very private that you can spend a whole day inside relaxing. Also it’s important to make a reservation at the SPA in the Couple Room to share an excellent massage.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurcoMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Manager at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2009

Dear “TurcoMexicoCity,” Thank you very much for your comments, we are delighted that you really enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back in the future, and visit other beautiful rooms!
Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

They made our stay in San Miguel so much fun. Without them we would have never known about Rancho San Emilia, cooking school, private mariachi performances and so much more. The hotel was beautiful and Marc and his staff were so kind and helpful. We will be back...dancing in the streets :)

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuziMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2009

Dear “SuziMP,”

The staff at Casa de Sierra Nevada is pleased that you all had a wonderful time during your stay in San Miguel! It was our pleasure to assist with the daily activities and we look forward to welcoming you back and dancing in the streets again!

Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Although I was not an actual guest of the hotel, we took full advantage of the amenities it has to offer. The activities the hotel set up for our group were amazing! Cooking class at the Sazon with Paco was fantastic! Day of horseback ridding at a ranch and the list goes on and on! The staff at Casa de Sierra Nevada was attentive, friendly, and helpful. They treated us like royalty! I was so impressed with my experience that I will be back and will only stay at Casa de Sierra Nevada! Thanks for a fabulous trip!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jendauble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSierraNevada, Management at Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2009

Dear “Daubledown,”

We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed all the group activities the staff helped arranged! Your kind words will definitely be shared with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future as an “official” guest!

Kind Regards,
The Casa de Sierra Nevada Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#16 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Otel
L'Otel
#18 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada

Address: Calle Hospicio 35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Business Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#3 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: $257 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in the Mexican heartlands, Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada evokes the charm of a bygone era. San Miguel is an adventure for the senses. Yet at the very center of this vibrant city lies a safe haven that’s at once connected to the locale and is its own private sanctuary. Swing open our ancient, wooden front doors and the fiesta outside gives way to a siesta-like calm. Water fountains and blooming flowerpots dot the cluster of heritage mansions that make up the hotel. A large pool, fringed with lush foliage and plants, provides the perfect place to cool off. 17th- and 18th-century buildings reveal inner courtyards, terraces and gardens. Here, history is woven into every stucco wall, tiled bath and curved ceiling, all balanced with modern luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Nevada By Orient-Express Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Hotel Casa De Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing